How I lived the word comfortable this past week

in #writing7 years ago

So it’s been about a week since I started redefining and living the word comfortable here in this post and I am going to take this word and focus my living of it this week as well.

How I’ve been living this word the last week: In moments where I would feel or become aware that I am becoming shy or I am suppressing myself, I’d remind me of my redefinition of the word comfortable as:The ability and decision to let myself come through, to let my self-expression come through in the environment or situation or moment I am in.

rsz_scott-walsh-315682.jpg


Instances where and how I lived the word comfortable

Recordings and Group Participation

I was part of some interview recording, and I was feeling intimidated and shy towards the group of people there, especially the host/the main speaker in the recording. I felt how I was suppressing myself and my self-expression in front of the group of people by for example the rigid way I would sit or allow my body to move. I’d try to sit very politely, for lack of a better word and not sit really comfortably, in a nice and comfortable way because of fears to disturb the other people by moving or by judging the sitting position as looking awkward and worrying what the others will think of it. So, I was basically feeling uncomfortable around the other people and in the recording/interview itself. So, I lived my redefined word comfortable there, and allowed myself to come through in my self-expression. I made the decision in me to unconditionally drop all self-judgements, judgements, fears and worries of how I come off/across to others and whether or not they’ll like me and my self-expression. Then from there I made the decision and allowed myself to let my self-expression, to let myself, in fact, come through in the group interaction and participation. So, throughout the recording I would then change up my sitting position if my current one started feeling uncomfortable, like if my back went stiff, or my legs went a bit sore and sleepy etc. If I had questions throughout the recording I’d allow myself to let my self-expression come through by asking the questions. Or, if I wanted to contribute to the recording/interview by saying something to a topic or subject wing discussed, I’d do so; I’d make the decision to allow myself to let myself, my self-expression, come through in that moment, open my mouth and speak in a moment where it was appropriate and i wasn’t interrupting the current speaker.

Pets, Fur and Me

Then in other instances or moments, where I’d notice that I am getting or feeling constricted in me around animals and a lot of shedding of fur from cats and dogs, especially around food and drink and I’d get uncomfortable in me around them and I just felt like I can not be me totally here because of the fur everywhere shedding and getting into my food and drinks and so on -- what I did is firstly let go of the judgements I have towards the dogs, cats and their fur shedding and getting on clothes, or maybe also food and drinks. Then I lived my redefine word comfortable and made the decision to let myself come through in that environment, to really enjoy myself and see how I can enjoy myself in the environment I am in. I’d then embrace the environment, dogs, cats and fur and fur shedding and realize that I can enjoy myself and be myself and express myself in this environment where there is cats, dogs and fur shedding and the hair does get on clothes and also sometimes food and drinks. I’d then see what I can do to enjoy myself in the environment I am in, simply remove the shed fur from clothes, food or drinks and continue enjoying it and me together with the animals in the environment I am in. I allow myself, my self-expression, my enjoyment, and other words, expressions and experiences to come through me into the environment/moment I am in right now/there.

A Safari Tour and Wildlife

I was also part of a, type of Safari tour here in South Africa. I was noticing that I was getting and feeling constricted inside myself and body due to fear and anxiety of the wildlife there, especially snakes. So, I had again an instance, moment and opportunity to push my redefined word comfortable here in this wildlife environment. How I did is by reminding myself that living in fear and anxiety is not really a living worthwhile. In nature, in wildlife, it’s not to live in fear and anxiety of the animals, plants and insects - but rather to develop or transform the anxiety and fear into a respect for nature the animals, plants, insects, etc. and from there be more cautious and aware in a practical sense, and not from a sense or starting point of fear, anxiety and fear-based survival. So, in this environment then I allowed myself to push to enjoy myself, learn more about nature and wildlife, the process the other guys/workers go through in removing poacher traps, and so on. Learning more about myself and the relationship I have with nature. The ideas, beliefs, fears and associations I made or accepted from others to be made in my mind towards nature. I was at a time afraid to take of my thick jacket, yet the South African sun was soaring it’s hotness onto the land and me. I was afraid to take the jacket off because I was afraid and imagined that snakes have a much better biting ground or space in me if I were to take my jacket off. So, I lived in fear and anxiety, was uncomfortable and suppressed myself and my body’s ‘want’ to take the jacket off because it was so hot and I started feeling nauseous. Here, I saw I wasn’t letting myself come through. I dropped the fear and based on my realization previously that living in fear and anxiety is no worthwhile living, and to rather transform my fear and anxiety of nature and certain animals into respect - I allowed myself, my self-expression and comfort to come through, took the jacket off and simply was more aware and alert of my surroundings from a practical starting point, not from so much fear and anxiety of being bitten and dying. I allowed my enjoyment of myself in this new environment to come through, I allowed learning more about nature, animals, plants and myself in regards to this new environment come through. I enjoyed the wind, sun and sight of nature: insects, animals, plants, rivers, the sky, the scenery in general and the company of the people in the group I was traveling with.


You can learn more about the process of Redefining and Living Words and with that Redefining Yourself, Redefining who you are at:

Thank you!
Steem-On,
Nebi :)

Sort:  

Cool Aldin !!, me also do the same thing like where i went to the place for example sometimes i go to the forest near my city, but my mind said that i dropped the fear but ok i have to ignore my fear and then try enjoyed enviroment around me... it really very fun close to nature and blend with the environment !

Congratulations @nebi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great examples of Redefing and Living Words, Aldin... and, in the process of living the word Comfortable, facing and redefining fears as well.
Upvoted and Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14