You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #8

in #writing7 years ago

Thanks for the shoutout :) And I'm looking forward to the continuation of Ledd's journey - expertly told as it is. Never been a runaway myself, although as a child I would get myself "temporarily lost" when out in nature from getting distracted by the real natural world around me. My parents would freak, but I always had things under control! For me then I was in my own world just like Ledd in a way - a world of imagination and creativity. The world you create in your story.

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support! The feedback and encouragement you give is always highly appreciated. We were the same way. I never really ran away, but I remember everyone always freaked out when I've been missing for quite some time. Really though, I had everything under control as well. Maybe our similar experiences adds to the familiarity of the story :D

Yes there is that sense of familiarity. As a child I was curious. I see that, to some degree, in Ledd. There is also far more to his character, as is portrayed in your story. But yes, as for myself - I always had everything under control :D - always!

Reading your story is reminding me of the value in a child's perspective. It's a very different way of looking at the world. This is what I am finding impressive about your writing - you are both capturing that viewpoint, whilst weaving in a very readable fantasy type story. Yet still from a child's viewpoint.

Thank you, mate! That's such a nice thing to say. Definitely made my day! I guess I tried to do it this way because I've read Fantasy stories where the lead characters are children, but they don't speak or think like children. So, I decided that I wanted to give the story some sort of authenticity. Since this is the first time I wrote in the first-person, might as well go all-out with it!

Writing in the first person is different, that's for sure. I did it for one of my shorter stories, and it seemed to work - and that one received more comments than any story before it, which is the gauge I use. When the Forgotten Man story started to develop in my head, it just automatically lent itself to the first person. Similar style to my earlier story also. But such a different mindset, so yes it can be a challenge. And why not go all out?

Yeah, I'm pretty sure I read that. Glad to be part of that comment milestone :) I'm so glad to hear about a fellow writer's thoughts regarding the matter. It used to be that I didn't even consider writing in the first person, but the process of writing this story really gave me a newfound respect for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69271.04
ETH 3847.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71