You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Write Club report: First story drafted!

in #writing7 years ago

Writing stories of that length is no easy task. Especially when we get so used to the regular Steemit length of approx 1000-1500 words. I too have found these to be the ideal length, given attention spans, and competing interests. I wrote a couple of longer stories last year, but broke them up into posts of that lengths. But it is hard work. i can understand why it takes the time it takes. Particularly with a full time job and other commitments.

Editing is the big time killer. And it needs to be done right, doesn't it. And I am pointing the finger squarely at myself right now!

Sort:  

I also feel those fingers pointed at me... It's great to be surrounded by people like @jayna who take things serious. No time to slack! On to writing & editing!

Yes I agree. The writing groups at discord are helping me focus on writing issues beyond just writing down words. And I keep an eye on the wonderful @jayna's work as she does have insight in this area. But like you say, no time to slack (echoed by my internal editor...)

Oh hi @naquoya and @nobyeni. Thank you for the support and conversation. It’s lovely that we all inspire one another. I firmly believe that the collective energy we are building around writing practice is going to benefit us all, and help those of us who are indeed serious about the craft to take it to the next level. I am cheering you on!

Writing can be a solitary exercise, and a part of me loves that about it. But that can also present a problem, as we need others around us to assist. Whether it be advice, critiques, editing, or camaraderie, having others around is needed. Trying to create a regular habit of hanging out at the Discord group more often.

PS - I am cheering you on too.

I think it's very motivating to have a community. It may be what was lacking in my years of hiatus away from writing. Hanging around with like-minded people, in addition to getting support and critiques, is just wonderful. It makes it feel worthwhile.

I know it was certainly lacking in any writing attempts I made prior to arriving here at Steemit. And even here in the early days. I can say with all certainty that my writing has improved over the last 9 months (the second half of my time here) as a result of the developing community aspect. Especially the Discord groups.

Well your posts are certainly engaging and readable and interesting! I don't know what your writing was like before, but I'm so enjoying reading your travel stories. You have a really nice writing style.

Thank you. I think my attempts at fiction were hit and miss. Noobie mistakes (which I still make, but not so severely). Head hopping, lots of telling, confused tense.

Basically problems that arise from having a story idea, writing it down, then doing NO editing.

Which brings me back to the community aspect - people to interact with such as yourself. Great posts to read on the craft. And groups to go to for assistance.

All evidence that having others of like mind around one does help. And with that I say thank you to you also :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63