You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From An Amateur Writer #41 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Books?

in #writing7 years ago

I think my reading interests started with the Hobbit. Back when I was about 12 years old. Took a little while longer before I read The Lord of the Rings, but when I did I loved it. Such a wonderful world he created.

And yes Lisbeth Salander is BADASS. Wonderfully so. I am just now reading the third in the series.

I haven't read any Jane Austen, but I am very aware of her. Do you have a favourite from her?

Thank you for participating and sharing some of the books and authors you love. Very much appreciated :)

Sort:  

Sorry, I meant the book Jane Eyre by Bronte. However, I do love the books Sense and Sensibility and Emma. yes, the third book is AWESOME!!! My mom just read the rest of the series (Tattoo) written by a different writer and she said they are so good! I am thinking about reading them but I do not want to be disappointed. Thank you for writing back! xx

Hey no problem. I know the book you mean. I haven't read it yet, but it's good to know you think highly of it.

I did notice there were books called the same as the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo but written by another author. I was curious as to what that was all about but never followed up on it. Are they a continuation of the series, or a complete rewrite?

Yes apparently a continuation, just by a different writer? I'm wondering if they are as BADASS and gritty? My mom is sort of unreliable as she pretty much says everything is good. LOL

I will have to look for reviews online on that one. She is such a specific character and personality that you wouldn't want that messed with in any way.

The original writer died before he could complete the trilogy, I think. The first book is the most memorable, but the other two are well worth the read.

He had actually written all 3 but died before they got published. Turns out the series has been continued by the publisher. Was just reading about it at Wikipedia. So there are now more (or will be) in the series, but by a different author.

But the first 3 are Steig Larsson's work.

Okay thanks for the research I was too lazy to do myself! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32