Short Fiction #11 | Estranged cage

in #writing5 years ago

alex-boyd-ooYSnqW-QGk-unsplash.jpg

In my few decades on earth, I can't help but find humor in the stories based on the powers believed to cascade down a woman's body.

If I grew up with those stories, I would be the Moon goddess who apparently slept with the Sun god.

But according to my current state, it's evident, seated helplessly in this living room, that I'm not the chosen few.

Today was one of those long workdays stirred up with depression and fatigue. According to European tales, when you were on the blob, each cramp was a reminder of Eve's original sin.

Eve, why did you give Adam the damn fruit?

My tummy keeps rumbling, not only because of the bloating but also being malnourished which according to ancient times helped women have fewer periods. Maybe it's not a bad idea right now since either way I would be nauseated after my third spoon.

Being a wombful of blood, I am home alone to rescue my partner from the hailstorms and lightning coming from my burning headache.

It's absurd just how last night at the same time I was up and running, but now I feel like a wild animal in rage.

I need some stillness and silence to not think or move, hopefully, the prostaglandin hormones will find my body unfit to produce and disappear. But the tenderness of my breasts under my silk camisole will not let me prosper and my bladder just got word that 2 liters of water were put in me.

Contemplating wouldn't be an option unless I wanted to buy a new couch so I drag my two left feet for relief.

Afterward, I close all the lights and throw myself into the bed not to be disturbed forever, recalling in agony, that I left my ibuprofen and glass of water on the living table.

I can't punch my way out of anger so I stare on the wall separating the bedroom and the living room in complete oblivion.

The ibuprofen finds its way in the palm of my hand and the glass falls halfway through its destination.

I swallow the medicine with my saliva and sleep.

Next morning, I see the mess and recall I did a bizarre thing last night. I don't know who to tell or who would believe so I keep in secrecy and practice all the more.

_______________________

Thank you, my dear reader,
For taking the time to sip some tea with me and cuddle to the unknown. I'll lay the firewood and you warm up in the teepee as we explore different encounters with life.
Love & Light💚

Original content by Naitore 2019
Photo by Alex Boyd on Unsplash

Sort:  

Hello @naitore, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47