Making powerful Presentations #1: How to Create and use Newspaper clippings and Making use of futuristic stories

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The last few weeks I have been tasked with making a few presentations. I have been a little bit out of practice and I needed to re-learn and catch-up on the current development to delivering powerful presentations that starts and ends with a bang.

This process has not been easy. At the beginning the critic was too tough, but with time I have learnt to pick everything that is said as a learning point. See, I am very lucky I had a team working with me to ensure we deliver the said presentations once and while doing so close the deal. So we practiced until everything was perfect. Everyday changing someone in the critic audience. This has been one of the best learning experiences for me.

How do You structure Your Presentation

Today I will dwell with the beginning and the end. I am also attaching a few video links on youtube that aided us in a few decisions that we made. One thing to note is that when presenting you have to capture people's attention right at the beginning. If you are selling something to them ensure they can see the value right from the start.

That is how we came up with newspaper clippings with a futuristic approach. We were aiming to tell the story our solution would have accomplished in the future if it was adopted by the client. So the client had a story to relate with. starting with this saw us capture at least 80% of the audience. Most curious as to how we arrived at that headline. And that was a beginning with a bang.

The presenter should be able to articulate this story. It is not only enough that you are presenting a powerful beginning story. Make sure that it is well articulated. Keep your balance, exude confidence, maintain eye contact. More importantly show that you have already bought in to your solution. If you do not believe in it, other people will not believe in it too.
Remember: people can tell when you think what you are selling is total BS.

I liked how this video explains the opening and the end with real life examples.

This video was so informative we watched it around five times.

How Do you create Newspapers clippings

  1. Using a designer: If you have a designer who is apt they can create this for you
  2. Online free services or premium services: A free service will create a simple clipping while the premium service allows you to create a more customized clipping.

Example of online services can be found here here here

Using an online free service

Lets create a clipping using Free newspaper generator

The beginning page

Now we will create an interesting clipping with a picture and a few words, Including a photo that communicates and most likely to create a hook at the beginning of the presentation.

Fill the fields in the online form with the picture you want to use and click on make it. Note if you wanted to do more on your clipping you could go for a premium service. I haven't tried it yet.

And the outcome, this did not please me too much.

The winner Online service

Though a bit technical. makemynewspaper.com worn my heart. I am still learning how to use it . You can create big photos here. Create an account for more access. I have used it for five days so I do not know if you have to pay for it yet.

I enjoyed using this service and it provided us with very wonderful clippings that we included on the presentation.

As I keep learning I will keep sharing what I discover. I am still working to become good at this and I hope writing about it helps.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe



APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

That is a website I will be bookmarking. The result looks like real newspapers. I like!

You should. I loved the outcome

I will listen to you if im interested and already willing to take whatever you are presenting to me because i need it.
Based on that, make sure whatever your presenting is actually needed and you are presenting to the right crowd!
Ofcourse you have to be confident articulate and honest leave out some funny jokes.
Awesome post @mutitum

Thank you. I am sure with the skills I have gained I can convince you to buy what I am selling

Damn girl, first of all congratulations for the milestones in your presentation skills. I am definitely going through the material in here. This is mind blowing, thank you.

You are welcome and thank you. I hated then loved the process all the way.

You did it so well. This will def come in handy for me some time.

You are welcome

Whoaaa! That is amazing

There can be so much info out there on the web, that to pull out what might work for you can take so damn long. Well me anyway, as I jump from site to site trying to take it all in, and so it's great to have it all laid out here. It's a real time saver. Thank you.

wow, a good presentation does not come by easily, Thank you for the insight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43