CHRONICLES_OF_A_MEDICAL_STUDENTCHRONICLES_OF_A_MEDICAL_STUDENT

in #writing6 years ago

(PART 3 OF 5)
... Year one started in good note, with a bunch of exceptional 'brainies' forming our class I knew all those Basic Studies glories was now in the past.. In my class were people like Chizukwa Amala (The overall best in our Basic set), Achonye Obinna Jude (the one that every textbook is afraid of, the 2nd best in our Basic set scoring 96% in Maths), Joy Omubo, Prince Adoki, Nmegbu Wisdom Chinwendu, Akanne Kelechi just to mention a few though, and some intelligently terrible folks who came in through POST-UTME. People like Ofoku Prince (Best Physics student in Nigeria as at then), Abinoro Elvis , Gift Wigbudu,
Cosbill 'Binho' Erugoh , Nkwogbo Ifeanyi Ellison and many more whose ginger were far more than mine... But as una know na, Warri boys no dey carry last, we exercised the small muscles we had and pursued success in year one... With calculation related subjects still in the scheme I had no issues. I comfortably bagged in all my 'A's in Chemistry courses, added some 'A's and 'B's in Physics and was very contented with 'B's in my Biology courses.
Upon being promoted to year 2, it was a different ball game all together. It was now time to do Gross Anatomy, Histology, Physiology & Biochemistry. The name of the courses, the weight of the textbooks, plus the Latin and Greek written inside could give palpitations to some of us that didn't like reading.
I knew I was in serious trouble, I was in Chapter one of my Keith Moore for almost one week... Mid into year 2 first semester I was still very blank... I went to see one of my classmates and heard him moving stuff in Gross Anatomy and enquired what textbook he was using, and he said Last Anatomy textbook (which was in my eyes smaller and less heavier than Keith Moore).. Sharp sharp I went to get my own Last Anatomy textbook and started reading but it was thesame Keith Moore phenomenon I felt... Then I heard about Charusia Anatomy textbook, that it was easier to comprehend. I then went and got Charusia which was a bit more comfortable for my kind of reader... But while all these drama was going on time was ticking, and first semester exams was in about two weeks time..
Two weeks to exams, and for the first time in a long time I was scared about hearing the word 'exam' cos I was totally unprepared. I tried my best to do crash reading by following my friend Adoki Prince to night classes. But I came to know later that crash reading rarely works in medicine & let alone for people like us that didn't know how to cram.
Exam started & I knew I was in for it... The temptation to spy or ask my neighbor to be his brother's goal keeper was so intense, but I just couldn't. I rather chose to fail honorably to preserve the small Christian testimony I already had amongst my classmates. Questions I saw in Anatomy and Physiology kept hitting me like Greek and Latin, which one is Sural nerve kwanu? Hian! Me I cannot kill myself o... I started praying that God should blind my lecture's eyes from seeing my errors. But little did I know that my Lectures were also praying that every arrows formed against them should not prosper. Kikikikiki.
But as a Loving Father that He is to me, He ensured I failed so well so He could open my eye to new ideas for success and teach me Common Sense. Results came out the following semester and I had just one C in Histology, the rest were Ds and Es.... With my Part one MBBS exam to write the following year, this was not the kind of result that could motivate anyone to continue...
Being a popular figure in school, my friends in Engineering even knew my results before I saw then, I walked back home that day depressed, confused and embarrassed... With a lot of thoughts running through my mind.
Upon getting home I... # To_be_continued
(PART 3 OF 5)
... Year one started in good note, with a bunch of exceptional 'brainies' forming our class I knew all those Basic Studies glories was now in the past.. In my class were people like Chizukwa Amala (The overall best in our Basic set), Achonye Obinna Jude (the one that every textbook is afraid of, the 2nd best in our Basic set scoring 96% in Maths), Joy Omubo, Prince Adoki, Nmegbu Wisdom Chinwendu, Akanne Kelechi just to mention a few though, and some intelligently terrible folks who came in through POST-UTME. People like Ofoku Prince (Best Physics student in Nigeria as at then), Abinoro Elvis , Gift Wigbudu,
Cosbill 'Binho' Erugoh , Nkwogbo Ifeanyi Ellison and many more whose ginger were far more than mine... But as una know na, Warri boys no dey carry last, we exercised the small muscles we had and pursued success in year one... With calculation related subjects still in the scheme I had no issues. I comfortably bagged in all my 'A's in Chemistry courses, added some 'A's and 'B's in Physics and was very contented with 'B's in my Biology courses.
Upon being promoted to year 2, it was a different ball game all together. It was now time to do Gross Anatomy, Histology, Physiology & Biochemistry. The name of the courses, the weight of the textbooks, plus the Latin and Greek written inside could give palpitations to some of us that didn't like reading.
I knew I was in serious trouble, I was in Chapter one of my Keith Moore for almost one week... Mid into year 2 first semester I was still very blank... I went to see one of my classmates and heard him moving stuff in Gross Anatomy and enquired what textbook he was using, and he said Last Anatomy textbook (which was in my eyes smaller and less heavier than Keith Moore).. Sharp sharp I went to get my own Last Anatomy textbook and started reading but it was thesame Keith Moore phenomenon I felt... Then I heard about Charusia Anatomy textbook, that it was easier to comprehend. I then went and got Charusia which was a bit more comfortable for my kind of reader... But while all these drama was going on time was ticking, and first semester exams was in about two weeks time..
Two weeks to exams, and for the first time in a long time I was scared about hearing the word 'exam' cos I was totally unprepared. I tried my best to do crash reading by following my friend Adoki Prince to night classes. But I came to know later that crash reading rarely works in medicine & let alone for people like us that didn't know how to cram.
Exam started & I knew I was in for it... The temptation to spy or ask my neighbor to be his brother's goal keeper was so intense, but I just couldn't. I rather chose to fail honorably to preserve the small Christian testimony I already had amongst my classmates. Questions I saw in Anatomy and Physiology kept hitting me like Greek and Latin, which one is Sural nerve kwanu? Hian! Me I cannot kill myself o... I started praying that God should blind my lecture's eyes from seeing my errors. But little did I know that my Lectures were also praying that every arrows formed against them should not prosper. Kikikikiki.
But as a Loving Father that He is to me, He ensured I failed so well so He could open my eye to new ideas for success and teach me Common Sense. Results came out the following semester and I had just one C in Histology, the rest were Ds and Es.... With my Part one MBBS exam to write the following year, this was not the kind of result that could motivate anyone to continue...
Being a popular figure in school, my friends in Engineering even knew my results before I saw then, I walked back home that day depressed, confused and embarrassed... With a lot of thoughts running through my mind.
Upon getting home I... # To_be_continued

Sort:  

Congratulations @mossydaro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations!,@mossydaro Your post has been upvoted by @reachout via the nigeria tag


Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn
Proudly sponsored via SP donation from @eturnerx , @rufans & @solomon158
Upvotes Benefactor : @bleepcoin & the rest of us
###### Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout
Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot (BETA)

## Also,We'd like invite you to the @eoscafe discord community https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE , be part of something great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51