You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nix Nixon (Essay on American "War on Drugs)

in #writing7 years ago

I think a big question that comes into play is does the government have the right to tell me what I can do with my own body? They certainly want to regulate the kind of food on our shelves.

How many pharmaceuticals have been deemed "safe" for the general public to consume, only to find a few years later that it kills you instead? Dry eyes? We've got a drug for that! Restless legs? We've got a drug for that too! But the side effects may kill you.

So then how are these drugs any better or worse than recreational drugs or alcohol? Personally, I don't do drugs, although I do like beer or wine in moderation. I just don't think the government should have their hands in this, and your point about the money adds even more weight to the argument.

Sort:  

I agree. There is an argument to be made for regulation, but people will do as they choose regardless. I also want to take wind out of the drug cartel's sails, or at least make it to where people don't have to die for the underground industry. Make it an industry that can be monitored. It helps out a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47