Creative Writing Challenge Task #1: "And so, except for my mortal connections, I'm alone."

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a bit outside my norm, but I've decided to try my hand at creative writing, and what better way than a challenge that gets me to write more?


The Rules of the Challenge:

1). Go to your home library. Pick a random shelf. Take the 7-th book. Open page number 7. Find the 7-th sentence and write a short poem OR a short essay based on what you have read in the sentence. Don’t forget to take a snapshot of the sentence which triggered your creativity to write the post. Include the snapshot at the beginning of your post.


My book ended up being Anne Rice's "Blackwood Farm." Though not much of an Anne Rice fan, I did enjoy some of her books. This one, I don't recall much about it.


Suitably morose, as expected:

And so, except for my mortal connections, I'm alone.

I recall a time when all was dark, but not the darkness of loss, but of newness and potency. As days passed, cracks of light reached to me, grasping with gentle fingers, calling me up to see more of itself. I reached, reached and finally felt the warmth of the day, the dampness of dew, and the calm of the cool nights.

I was surrounded by family then. Those times when we each did our best to outdo one another, clamoring for the attention of the sun, and for the love of our tenders. We were made for a purpose, cultivated to bring joy to all whose eyes would fall upon us. We basked in this light as well. The days were long and glorious.

But then came a day that changed it all. It was a day I had hoped for, longed for: to be taken from my home and brought to others to be enjoyed. This is what we were bred for. This was the day where I could bring joy to more souls!

Though as I was parted from my bed, I knew this was not quite right. The light from the eyes of the one who chose me was gone. As I lay there, willing my life into the one on whom I rested, I poured all of my joy into that stony visage, hoping the corners of her mouth would turn up, that her eyes would alight and gaze upon my petals. But she lay there, still and unmoved.

I turned to the others, looking down on her. While their eyes had light, they were glistening in the wetness of dew. I desperately reached to them with my verdant beauty in hues of white and gold, but alas, I could neither console them nor bring them joy.

I was a simple adornment. A tradition and a metaphor. An allusion to a life that is consumed. As I spent my life for this one very moment, so, too, did my companion spend hers for this moment. With my sustenance gone, darkness once again enveloped me.

We are forever companions, husks of a former brilliance, set here to be remembered by, and forgotten. My purpose is coming to an end. Here I wait as I exude the last of my fragrance to the still air, as my petals fade and shrivel. I wait to join my companion.

"And so, except for my mortal connections, I'm alone."



Thanks to @steemfluencer for heading up the creative writing challenge!


If you enjoyed this post, please follow, upvote, and resteem. I write posts on singing, playing piano, nature, and sometimes cats.

Sort:  

Beautifully dark and well written. I had to re-read a couple times as I discovered new metaphors and layers. Love it!

Any resemblance to real writing is purely coincidental, I'm sure. :)

Oooooh, take me back to English literature class.
I like it babe.
Keep that up you're good.

LOL, thanks for the encouragement, @tremendospercy!

WOOOOW, Morodiene!!!!

So well written, lovely, lovely, LOVELY!

Where do you find the challenges? I'd love to try my hand at this

Thanks lady! Gonna check it out x

I love it. You can say all you want that you're no writer, but you have the words within you. Wonderful, even though it had that morose edge to it. Please keep it up... each time you do, you will hone your skills.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Beautiful written, I'm so glad you join this challenege. It's amazing how inspiring a random shelf, random book, on a random page, on the 7th line could say so much with such few words.

You inspired and ignited our literary imagination.

Thanks for showing me this competition! <3

Thanks for joining!

Congratulations @morodiene! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by morodiene from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

that was dark!

reminded me of a scene from a horror movie I once saw, that never left me either.

so thanks for that

lol

I think

LOL, I guess that's good ;)

in the end I decided to try one too, out of competition as I am too late. If you would like to see it, well, it's over here

https://steemit.com/writing/@spaingaroo/seventh-book-seventh-sentence-writing-challenge

The flower should be pleased, it performed it's duty admirably.

This is true. I often think about the purpose of things - and our lives. In a way, it would be nice to be like a flower that has a clear purpose. But then, there's no freedom to decide for ourselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57097.85
ETH 3049.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30