You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Removing the competition from competitions

in #writing6 years ago

Many female authors in the not to distant past had to publish under male names.
Recently J K Rowling took this approach to get Harry Potter into the world.
Defining a contest based on ludicrous criteria such as mentioned above indicates plain bias.

This is not about equality of opportunity. That doesn't exist.

It should be about equity. i.e. 'All' participants having a level starting position.
Promoting the marginalised keeps them marginalised. 'Status Quo!'

Sort:  

I agree!

Some men have to publish under female names too... paradoxical, much?

I've touched upon the real issue in another reply.

Ethnic minorities don't buy books in massive volumes and therefore, publishing a book that appeals more to ethnic minorities than a wider audience is not commercially viable - nor does it make good business sense.

The same thing applies to movies. This level of market segmentation is just not viable from a business standpoint but some people are often reluctant to admit that this is the primary motivation. Personally I've never been keen on creating work for any specific niche purely from the fact that I have a very low boredom threshold. :)

I don't produce work for a niche per se, I just like writing along the darker side of things, so thats where I go. My muse seems to be a bit of a dark horse ;)

It's a gift to be able to write anything really.
You have that gift, ability and tenacity.
I know how hard it is as I have tried on several occasions to complete just one novel.
To write several works in the same genre is an accomplishment in itself.
My real work tends towards non-fiction and academic writing that few people read or have interest in. Although having said that. I have had over 500,000 reads?
Maybe I'm selling myself short? But I'd love to be able to incorporate my sociology into something that would get a wider readership. I'm working on it :)

At 500,000 reads? You certainly are selling yourself short! WOW!

As ever, if I can help in any way, please let me know and I'll be happy to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82