How To Write A Good Post #3: If You Not Heed That You're Lost! [Written Format]

in #writing7 years ago

HOw to write #3.png

Hey guys,

here again the content of my last Video in a written format.
If you don't​ want to read it you can watch it instead on Dtube.


As I said in previous parts there is no one major advice for writing an interesting post. Its an interaction of several different factors coming together.

So in the previous contributions of this series, I covered some basics. I was trying to show you a fundamental truth on your way to a successful. Especially for beginners.

But like I said it was just basics today I want to be more specific, and I took one point out.

Your Title.png

Obvious. Your Title is the gate people need to pass through to reach the written content. Have in mind that you are competing with others in this community. Its a fight for attention.
This is the first hurdle you have to make sure that other get over it.


Also, you have to ask yourself following question.
Who do you want to target?


There is a difference between your followers and trying to get new followers. Why?

Because your followers they know you already a bit. Some better some less but they know what they can expect. And they are following you because you have interesting stuff to share. So that means when your followers see that you post something the probability is high that they will read it. It's not for sure, but the probability is high.


It's like: Oh modernpastor published a new Post, or Video lets see.
They are clicking mostly not because of the title which is also important, don't get me wrong but they will read your post primarily because of you. They already know you.


One reason why you should never take your followers for granted.

People who follow you are easier to convince to pass the first hurdle to click on your post than people who even don't know you yet.


This group of users is different. They don't know about the value you laying inside of your posts. You need to bait them with curious making titles.

I am not saying you should do click-baiting. But be aware of that: Clickbaiting is just click baiting when you are not delivering what you promised in the title. When you deliver what you have promised its never click-baiting.


When you call the title: "How to become a millionaire in two easy ways" and then you write about your favorite meal. This would be fatal for you because people will classify you as a cheater or whatever. Your reputation would suffer. This would be click-baiting​​.


Especially in the beginning, we want to gain new followers. You are building your name out in the Steemit Ocean. No one was waiting for you. You need to bring something, and the first contact comes trough interesting titles.

These kinds of titles should fulfill two simple characteristics. At least in my opinion.

ask a question.png

For example: Where will STEEM be at the end of 2018?
With a question, you activate the desire to know the answer.

Many People would like to know an answer to that question, means the desire to know the answer is already there. But with your questions in the title, you are activating or better you're bringing it up to the surface.

People who are interested in that topic are curious​ to know what you have to say about that. Of course, now you have to deliver.

2.Present A solution.png

One example is my title on this Post or the Video I made.
How to's are very effective, because people feel that they will be lifted up to achieve something.


You may now think, that you cant always make a title with How to do that and how to do this. And yes you are right. But you need to be creative. Play with words. How to is not the only sentence which makes people curious. They are several ways to do that.

Examples.png

It​ was a long way, but I became a professional football player you can too? It's just an example.

Another example:
I should have invest earlier in this altcoin. This mistake I will not repeat again.

Or: Now I know how to trade and make huge profits. Be aware of that.

All these titles trigger a specif emotion. Curiosity!


People want to know how they can also become a professional football player, people want to know what kind of mistake you did, people want to know how to trade beneficially.

You are leading them to overcome the first hurdle keep that in mind. But now you have also to deliver. This is the second hurdle.


My tips are not graved into stone, but I am convinced that catchy title increases the probability of potential new readers.

I hope I could elucidate how Important your titles are. For your followers but even more for people who don't​ know you.

Follow, upvote, resteem gold 2.png

Sort:  

I think th eamount of followers generally doesn't matter too much. As with the post themselves it's quality > quantity! :)

This sentence looks familiar to me^^
Yes, you are right. On general.
But the truth is even when it’s an illusion the desire is there to gain many followers. Especially in the beginning.

The history of social media planted in us the imagination that the amount of followers determines your social worth within the community.

It’s not true but it’s like a solid castle inside of us. Difficult to take down.
I can understand it, but the reality will catch you what is good in my opinion. Could hurt but the result is good.

I think that especially steemit show it in a good way that amount of follower= your social worth is misleading.

I recognize this could be a good topic 🤔

Hi, this is really helpful post... thanks!

I just joined steemit, follow and I follow back and upvote
If you or and anyone else is interested in changing themselves and the world,
please join the FOOD REVOLUTION!
check my intro out....
http://steem.link/bLD24
And article, Mc D’s vegan burgers
http://steem.link/7sUm7
hope you like :) ✌ 🐮

they say content is king so if the content is good then you can catch them, unless you are buying users using bots

This is true. But if no one reaches the content it's the goal is not achieved.

So you have to lead them to reach your content. After that the King is able to play :)

This post have given me relevant points on title writing @modernpastor, most times as a newbie making an attractive title is very difficult due to the fact that most times the content has already be written but to make that attractive title becomes an issue. Thanks for sharing, i now have some format in writing an attractive title 👍

Hey my friend, glad to hear that.
The Title is one of the most important aspects.
This is what people see first, this is where we need to catch them. To lead them to read our post.

You can have a great content but when they title is not appealing for other users, the great content will not be seen.

If you have further questions feel free to ask :)

sorry for the delay of reply @modernpastor ,,,,, what i want to ask is that, is it good to blog about different fields? Because am talented in drawing and am pursuing my career in electrical engineering, i love drawing so much and i have been blogging about that for awhile now. I want to also blog on electrical field in order to improve myself too in that area. But i have also observed that most steemians gain fame when they are know for a particular field. I don't know what to do about it

when the content is good it will always bring people to you but you have to catch them with the heading, that is the bait. and i agree ask a question but it has to be a relevant question that captures the audience

Agree with you my friend .
That's right. The question need to be relevant :)

I hope you will also do some tips and tricks about formatting the post. And the software you use for the art work.

It will come my friend, it will come don't worry :)

Nice way of presenting the content thanks for sharing the ideas :) very useful

I am glad to hear that :)

as before, you give only the right advice. I do not have many subscribers, and it seems to me that they do not watch my posts. Therefore, the main thing in my opinion is communication with other users who will subsequently support your content.
Thank you

Thank you, ​my friend :)
I will also make a Video or post about the Followers thinking :)

Postings like this are a public attraction in the steemit community

Nice post @modernpastor. Your way of writing a post is vary beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks my friend, I am happy when you could get something out of it. If you have further questions feel free to ask me :)

I will take notes 😂

Yeeeeees 😂

Yeah as it seems it is indeed necessary to build up good contents and the interaction between them is as well necessary !
Will keep the Points in mind !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43