Diary of A Modern Man: Entry #7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Hey there!

Thursday 6th April - The Diary of A Modern Man.

I've been home for a few days now. I'm already feeling lost and powerless. I think it is safe to say there is nothing here for me now.

I met up with an old friend from school today - Kathy. We'd been always been really close friends. It was strange, romance was ever present on the horizon of our friendship. One of us always wanted something when they other didn't. I'm sure it was quite entertaining from the outside.

So I found it really strange that today was nice. Just nice. We were such good friends at one point, but now there is almost no connection there. The best word to describe it was pleasant; which is depressing. Lately I've been finding that I get reminiscent about things. Even things that weren't anything special at the time. In my head I'd projected an illusion of Kathy. One that was far from the truth.

I think that once Mike moves to down to his uni, the only reason I'll have for coming home is home itself. The people I was once friends with have either all moved away or stayed and changed. Even Alice, we had a great thing, but it now seems like it was purely physical. I don't think either of us have a pressing need to see each other again.

These 3 are the only people I have managed to keep in touch with from my childhood. Apart from Mike, I don't care if I don't see them. Does that paint a grey enough picture?


Thanks for reading, any comments, questions, or advice comment below! Or head over to @modern-man to follow me and check out the rest of my series

MM actual.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37