My child is My Hero

in #writing6 years ago

image

The beach breeze gently embraced my body, twisted the sand, and waved the hair I'd let loose. The gentle whispers of the wind seemed to probe deep into me, greeting longing from someone far away. He who has long since left my life. He who I always consider as a true hero. Each of these gusts of wind seemed to bring me back to years ago. When he promised to come back to me.

A few years ago I had a perfect family. Our lives are indeed not easy. We are not part of a noble or wealthy person who will be respected by many people. We are only a family of fishermen who live by counting day by day. We have to work hard to survive. Even though our life is really lacking, but I am grateful because at least I have a whole family. I have parents who love me very much. Mom who never complains because of my mischief and father who will do anything for my happiness.

As a child, I often went out to go fishing with my father. Life feels easier at the time. I only know laughter and spoiled tears. Every time I see sweat pouring into my father's forehead, I will immediately rub it by my hand. That was my job when I went to sea with him. He will only smile and give a gift of sweet kiss on my cheek. After going to sea, my mother would give a speech with fried fish food that we had caught before.

After going to sea, usually I would also go to the market with my mother to sell the fish you caught. Somehow I felt very happy when I saw so many people gathered there. The smell of fishy immediately smelled as we began to enter the market area. Hot air was twice as intense, but I never ignored it. We will sit and wait for the customers to come for a full day or until the fish we bring is sold out.

Days passed and without being felt I was in elementary school. I became more skilled at helping my father go fishing. Even though I am a girl, but I have never been ashamed to catch fish with my father. Every time after school I will be faithful to join my father wherever he goes. Either to the sea or to another place.

Once when my father said, "Mira, you are a woman. You'd better stay home and help your mother here. Let dad go to sea and make a living for our family. "
I immediately shook my head disagreeing with my father's words. "I want to help daddy. Even though I'm a father, but what's the harm? There has never been a ban on girls from helping their father to go to sea, right? "
"A woman is also tasked with serving her husband if she is married later. What is your husband's response later if you can't be a good wife? "Said my father still trying to persuade me, but his words were wrong to say to elementary school children like me.
I laughed at my father's words. "Dad, I haven't even graduated from elementary school and daddy has talked about marriage with me. I don't want to marry daddy. I will never leave my father and mother. "

Dad can only sigh resignedly to hear my answer. One who talks about marriage to elementary school children. It is true, we still hold the tradition where girls must be taught to be good wives from childhood. Even some of my friends claimed to have been arranged by their parents. I never thought like that at all. Everything I have is perfect. In this simplicity I have got the happiness I need. Really, there is nothing I want after all this.

Sort:  

Hello @mnur, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97