You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Slacker's Guide to the Great Remission: Introduction

in #writing7 years ago

How did you just switch POV towards the end? Was that deliberate? It sure was beautiful. Quite a nice read. All relatable. I am not in the Americas but I am chasing my version of a national dream, and boy believe me I feel every dose of frustration lashed out in those letters. Great stuff! Following you.

Sort:  

Yes, POV from the guy in the car and then POV from the bum with the sign.

Thank you. The powers that control things want you to scramble to get what you need to survive, meanwhile telling you that you don't have enough, but that when you finally do get enough (which you never will) you will be happy. The problem is that the struggle saps every bit of happiness from you. I call this the "desolate quest."

This is the unfolding of a book-length manuscript. I wrote it, not with a world readership in mind, but from the perspective of the gluttonous West. Though wealthy, many people are discontent here. Glad it's giving you pause for reflection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63