Why do we do the things we do?

in #writing8 years ago
Who are you?
Are you your mind? Or something higher?
Do you know who you are? Or do you merely think you know? And does it really matter?
Our materialistic society with its unenlightened leadership has made it virtually taboo to inquire into our real higher self, instead we use our valuable time maintaining, decorating and pampering the body for its own sake
Might there be an alternative?

I want you all to really read that piece of text there and have a think, how many times a day do you adjust your hair, makeup, pants? How many times do you 'check out' a car, other person, clothing item? What if the world didn't care about any of that? Just what if?....

-Firefly

Sort:  

If someone is caring about ones looks, does that indicate that that person is shallow? Can I not check out a car for the marvelous piece of engineering that it is? You can look at it both ways. Not everyone is appreciating it for its "worth" in illegal paper bills.

I gladly pamper my body (organic food/exercise) and my mind(cannabis) because I am me. To me its natural to try my best at whatever it is that I'm doing. But you see, the psychical has to be in balance with the mental. As everyone already knows, the body is the temple of the mind.

People have been blinded by this deranged and oppressive system. All you see and hear is shit through mass media, so you start thinking everything is shit and trust me, it is not.

We would be far better off if we consciously shifted our awareness from all the bad stuff we are bombarded with to reality. What if our collective consciousness and our collective emotion create the reality that we live in? How screwed would this system be if we stopped giving them attention and stared tinkering about our own solutions? You see, where attention goes, energy flows.

Dont let these vampires suck all your energy through the tv and mobile phone, leave something to share with everyone around you. With love, its always simple. The more you give, the more you have.

I agree with you, I am not calling anyone shallow or materialistic here, I guess what I am really trying to say in this post is, isn't it about time some of us do enrich the mind a bit before they enrich the body?
I indulge in 'self-centered' acts all the time, infact, I rarely do anything unless it suits me before anyone else, I think that is a part of the self preservation mechanism that many of us are in-bulit with.

Too many people focus on the bad in the world, and think that is all that there is, but as you said, there is so much more! I have lived my life with a bad heart (born with a rather large hole in it, but thats a whole new story) and have been through copious amounts of crap, but there is no way I want to let any of that beat me.

I think much of the problems of today stem from the media, wouldn't it be nice if people just disconnected every once in a while? Then again-- I wouldn't be having this convo with you if I did that, so there is an upside to the coin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40