Do you love reading?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I saw an article about "The greatest books: Top 50" and I decided to post them here and ask you a question after that, but first 10 of the books:

1 . Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
2 . In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust
3 . Ulysses by James Joyce
4 . The Odyssey by Homer
5 . War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
6 . Moby Dick by Herman Melville
7 . The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri
8 . Hamlet by William Shakespeare
9 . The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
10 . The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I must admit I didn't read all of them but I wanted to ask you do you like some of these books and most important which is your favourite book(no need to be from here) ?

Sort:  

reading is breathing knowledge :D
I think "war and peace" is the best in this list

Thank you for your comment. I haven't read it(what a shame :/) but I've heard it's a classic everyone should read :) I and soon I will do it too!!

not 'shame' we just can't read everything :D

That is very true :D

Saludos, muy buena lista, leí la Odisea y Hamlet y me han gustado mucho, los recomiendo.

I don't really like Hamlet actually :D

Personally on that list of 10 I liked Moby Dick the best.

Yeah, Moby Dick is good choice :)

Congratulations @miss.fortune! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think I didn't read the first 2 or 3... at least not in their entirety. Pretty sure I had excerpts as least on 1 and 3. I remember I was in 6th grade when I read Moby Dick. I was limited how many books I could borrow from the library at a time, so I always went for really thick ones, so I had more reading value for my borrow. What I liked varied with time and I am sure I would think differently if I reread today things that impacted me when I was younger. In high school and college I got really into Faulkner. These days I read a lot of "junk"--cozy mysteries, fantasy, even some romance. I need more lighter distraction than depth. But even "trash" literature can have an impact on the reader. Lots of good things hiding in the pages if you give them chance.

You are right @bex-dk. Thank you for the good and exhaustive reply! :)

Moby Dick is good.

Second voice for Moby Dick :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63