Walk on Your Wild Side Day - April 12th

in #writing3 years ago (edited)

Thomas Roy and his wife Ruth have created approximately 80 "special days" listed in Chase's Calendar of Events. Among them April 12th is "Walk on Your Wild Side Day.

It is the day to try something new, but why oh why is it a Monday this year and to top that off it is raining. This is such a great challenging holiday but I don't have the inner strength to go outside my comfort zone.

Wait, now that I think of it I am walking on my wild side every day. Would you step into a a class of twenty five Korean students and then teach another class and another and another and another and another even though we are still taking social distance precautions. And then to help these students keep the key expression with them would you bring a puppet you made and sing with them? This is my normal day, but now that I think of it I am walking on the wild side.

It's not dangerous or illegal. It doesn't cost any money, but I am walking on the wild side every day of my life. I'm not bragging but I'm just beginning to see that I am not disqualified for this holiday after all?

As a child my favorite book was "Where the wild things are." In this book the main character Max was sent to his room when he said to his mom, "I'll eat you up!" His bedroom then became the place the wild things are. Max became the king of the wild things. But he left them behind for the smell of supper and then waved goodbye to the wild things to find his supper still hot and waiting for him.

image.png

Where the Wild Things Are

Although a lot more tame than before I bet we all walked on the wild side at one time or another. This holiday was inspired by Nelson Algren's 1956 novel "A Walk on the Wild Side" and of course Lou Reed's 1972 song "Walk on the Wild Side". But let's do something a little different.

But let's do something a little different. Let's do something no one expects me to do. I will not link Lou Reed's song to this post. Instead I will post a little daring and fun song about the monster inside.

American Authors - The Best Day of My Life

I had a dream so big and loud
I jumped so high I touched the clouds
Wo-o-o-o-o-oh, wo-o-o-o-o-oh
I stretched my hands out to the sky
We danced with monsters through the night
Wo-o-o-o-o-oh, wo-o-o-o-o-oh
I'm never gonna look back
Woah, never gonna give it up
No, please don't wake me now
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
I howled at the moon with friends
And then the sun came crashing in
Wo-o-o-o-o-oh, wo-o-o-o-o-oh
But all the possibilities
No limits just epiphanies
Wo-o-o-o-o-oh, wo-o-o-o-o-oh
I'm never gonna look back
Woah, never gonna give it up
No, just don't wake me now
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
I hear it calling outside my window
I feel it in my soul (soul)
The stars were burning so bright
The sun was out 'til midnight
I say we lose control (control)
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife
This is gonna be, this is gonna be, this is gonna be
The best day of my life
Everything is looking up, everybody up now
This is gonna be the best day of my life
My li-i-i-i-i-ife

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50