You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival

in #writing7 years ago

I saw this film on wonderworks sometime in elementary school. It's been so long that all I can remeber is the relationship between the boy and the Aboriginal. Thank you for jogging my memory.

I'm not saying I have that as a truth, just as a pleasant memory, and a counter balance to the life-hating and child-blaming beliefs that were officially handed to me as a child.

I understand totally. A time of healing is necessary. I'm going through the same thing today. I'm glad you are writing. I will follow your journal because I think I can learn some things about writing and also the human heart. I have memories from childhood and pictures of what is right from my dad's record collection, cartoons and reruns of 60s cartoons and sitcoms. Most of it is trash but every once and a while a gem pops up and I see that there was a reason it was in my head. When it pops up I will share this gem with you. :)

Sort:  

Writing for me is very cathartic. A lot of what I write about is on similar themes. I do try to blend in the element of entertainment, so as not to be too self indulgent, but it certainly starts as a journal type of writing. Some develop into short stories, or even more humorous pieces. But the main thing is it starts, I get words out of my head - and get stuck emotions and ideas out with it. I think there is a lot of value in that.

Turning ones life experiences into stories is of value for others. Or articles like this one. And those memories that pop up, like you are experiencing can be shining a light on something. Who knows. This particular story intrigued me for the longest time, and re-watching it brought back its powerful lessons for me.

Definitely share. I try to answer all the comments I get here at my blog, or from comments I leave on other's blogs. Hopefully I don't miss any. Thanks for the comment :)

Thanks. I'm beginning to see there are writers here who put efforts into building a community. I will be back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30