You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "I write, therefore I am." - Mentorship Entry #1

in #writing6 years ago

I apologise! I missed this. I had meant to come back and give some feedback - which is why I upvoted it, so you'd at least not miss out on the pay-out.

I get a feeling - by the angst in your writing you perhaps feel like you're not quite good enough?

Don't listen to that voice. That voice doesn't know what it's talking about.

I liked your intro, Jody. I hope you can bring more of your writing to the group.

To be honest, the first things you write probably won't be all that original - at least, not until you get into your stride. But the thing is, to get into your stride, you actually have to move forward.

Come on, together then. There are a few in the group like you. Not quite sure of their talent, a little worried that they won't measure up.

Well, instead of trying to compare yourself to them, compare yourself to you - or at least the 'yesterday you'.

Sort:  

Thank you very much =) ... Indeed, ignoring the voice can prove difficult. Just because I've done it so many times... Starting on something, but never finishing.

I am pretty happy with an interesting writing idea I started here on Steemit, where I started a story, and two friends and take turns in continuing it. If you've got the time, check out "The Woman Who Moved". It's supposed to be short (only 7 parts to it (Lily just finished part 5), average of 500 words each part).

The other factor is time... I know that just like art, writing requires, as you said in your recent post, constant practice. Between my art and trying to earn a living (I'm an English teacher), it gets hard trying to fit in everything one wants to do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68441.01
ETH 3847.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66