Not posting exclusive excerpts of my writing...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Sorry. I'm not allowed to do that any more. It doesn't add enough value to the platform and therefore I've been flagged for it.

Instead, I'll post unique blogs - just like a lot of the others have taken to doing. I won't beg and ask for followers and upvotes though, but I shall be playing to my strengths.

Now, last year, when I joined, you could only post 4 blogs per day, otherwise you'd lose out on the rewards for the posts. That's not true any more and so I can post as many times as I like.

I have been posting 2, 3 or 4 quality posts every day, depending on what I was doing at the time. I've written an anthology direct to Steemit.com and I've also written a full novel (both of which are available on Amazon and from me for SBD if you'd like to support a talented writer).

Because I was getting $60 Steem for the majority of my posts and because one whale didn't like that fact and decided to flag some of my posts (at least 11 of them) I've decided to go the other way.

Instead of 2, 3 or 4 quality stories every day, I'll write 16 of these posts where I write unique and original blogs but won't serialise my stories.

That way, I'll be getting the same as I was, giving unique, non-serialised content (just like a lot of others do) and I'll be fulfilling the criteria set by @transisto - I hope that's OK with everyone.

You see, I can write around 5000 words per day without breaking a sweat so if you'd rather have 4 quality posts that earn a place on the trending page of Writing and sometimes Fiction rather than 16 posts of nothing much except unique commentary, then that's cool, you'll get exactly what you wanted.

There's a saying:

Be careful what you wish for...

Sort:  

Is there anything we can do to make you change your mind ? For me, great fiction like yours "IS" the true value of the platform. High quality fiction content that goes beyond being just flash fiction and goes beyond the draft quality stuff i myself have been posting here. There are many people enjoying your work Michelle, and a couple of whales disagreeing on its value might make a big difference in payout, doesn't change the fact that your work is absolutely part of the top 5% high quality content here on steemit. I really hope you will change your mind and go back to doing what you were doing.

Thank you! Top 5%? I'm staggered that you think that, but again, thank you!

I'm not posting any more of my stories. They are precious to me - as with any writer, if you ask them - and I'm not putting them up to be flagged.

I was told that when you accept good feedback you have to also accept the bad with equal grace - this is true and so I'll not put my stories here to be critiqued by someone who has purchased his credibility and what he knows about fiction writing is little and has even less interest in it than that.

Loading...

I just threw in my minnow's weight in your support.

This is crazy when original content is flagged, because it doesn't fit into someone else's parameters of what is value.

This has nothing to do with the current spam/bot wars going on.

Don't go - we need more original content, not less.

I have a novel going on here, and can honestly say it was inspired by you.

(or maybe I will wait a week or two before I start posting....mmm)

I'd wait a while. I'm thinking on this now. I'll find a way... I usually do.

Keep thinking and let me know your conclusions..

I just posted the first part of my story -(novel is the wrong word really, as it is more than that). It's an interesting endevour I havn't seen done before.

(I can't tell you anymore, it's a secret - at his point!..)

This wont make sense at the moment- even if you read my first chapter - but you have a part in it already. - It won't be how you think - whatever it is you think, trust me. lol)

Good luck, and stay!

I guess we are all owned by @transisto response from @lukestokes a witness:

lukestokes (72) · 7 minutes ago
The SMT white paper talks about the ability to set up oracles which can then control who gets to participate in the rewards pool for that SMT. It's all theory, at this point, but assuming that SMT had value, you could in theory use the oracles to ensure the only people participating in those rewards followed the guidelines of the community you're building.

From what I understand, that won't impact STEEM rewards at all.

no ONE person should be able to dictate how much a person earns on post

That's not how this system works either. I was up till almost 4am on night at SteemFest talking to transisto and better understanding his perspective. He essentially pays everyone who cashes out here based on the massive investment he made into STEEM. He purchased the right to dictate how the rewards pool works. Anyone who wants his same level of influence can purchase as much as he did and negate his votes. That's how this system works. I know a lot of people don't like that, but that's what it is. I was flagged by some big whales for quite a long time also. People who expect to make blogging on a steemit a job should take that into account. The potential rewards are not guaranteed until the blockchain gives them out. Potential rewards can be taken away at any time by whoever has the most Steem Power.

And of course my response:

Then I guess steemit and steem are going to go the way of geocities, and angelfire web sites, and die. There is ZERO incentive for anyone to post QUALITY work on steemit. "He purchased the right to dictate", so HE OWNS US ALL. How does it feel to be a bought and not paid slave. That is what you are saying we are to him?

In the future, please, ask me to continue the conversation elsewhere instead of quoting me in a conversation I'm not part of. You sidetracked a thread in the ChainBB Cryptocurrency forum to get my attention. I responded to you and decided to respond here as well (see my long comment). But quoting me in a way that I wouldn't even be a part of this conversation here makes it awkward for me to respond, right?

Sorry, and it will not happen again.

I own what I own, why extrapolate further than that?

purchased the right to dictate how the rewards pool works.

... to the same extent as everyone else relative to each's stakes.

And that is what I am pointing out to people. Not that anything will or can be done about it. Primarily because most people are sheep and following the crowd or the money. They have forgotten what self respect is. They are afraid to tell the emperor that he has no clothes on. As for the further extrapolation, it is utilized to show people that not all is as it should be. That they have no rights to any rewards, and that their votes are totally 100% meaningless. I understand that. Do they? You have invested an inordinate amount of money into steemit, that is generally done for one of two reason, to earn a respectable return on your investment, or as a means to conduct a hostile takeover.

If it was to earn a respectable ROI, you would not have flagged an individual that was bringing a lot of respect to steemit, and providing very original and high quality content to steemit.

I would like to ask you to Unflag all of the flags you placed on her account. Since it seems no whales or witnesses are willing or have the balls to ask you to undo what you have done to her account. I like to read, and she had some great stories she was posting.

She's out, what's the point? Do you understand that I merely countered a fraction of blocktrades votes of her posts? Just beg another whale to upvote her.

Downvoting does not take anything away, it's just redistributing it.

Okay, you used the white pages to your advantage, she used the system to her advantage, we all took advantage of the system we schemed and worked it like any good true blooded politician without any morals would. We are such a shining example to each other.

By the white paper there should be no bots, go on a search and destroy mission against them, not the people that use them. Take them out of the equation, not the people that were providing quality content.

I'm already doing that with spam bots, Quality is subjective.

BTW whenever you see people like above posting "nice post" all day long. Like this, https://steemit.com/@rana420/comments
I invite you to flag them and report them to steemcleaner.

https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/

I do use steemcleaners, and have reported a few people. Yes quality is subjective, that is why I asked you to un flag her. I think most crypto post as shit post, but I don't go flagging them.
When i get a new person and see a spam type post I try to educate them and let them know about the consequences. If someone has built a tool for people to use they are going to use it. Slamming them for doing so is wrong. it is the bots that need to be taken care of not the people, people will be people, if there is a way to earn more they are going to. I understand you are trying to take out the bots, but you can not do that by taking out the people.

Some people use those resteem idiots thinking they will get more views, they pay to have their work resteemed. What good does that do, nothing. The resteemers are making money off of new users, they should be driven out of the steemit environment, but is anyone doing anything about them? Not really. After all a fool and their money are soon parted.

Is a person that uses an upvote bot really that bad? They are simply using a tool that steem or steemit, or whoever allowed to enter the environment of steemit.

I have most of the minnowpond minnowthis or that people on mute, because I believe they are taking advantage of the new users. There are a lot more problems than people using a tool shoved into their hands.

Well said. You earned my follow with the few comments you made on this post. As a minnow, getting flagged for some arbitrary reasons really scares me. I feel like if any of my posts went viral, I wouldn't gain much out of it. I mean Why the hell should I post on steemit and get flagged while some serial spammers get 56 reputation and left untouched by whales.

Who decides who deserve what? Some god??????
These recent events have really disappointed me:https://steemit.com/@vimukthi/comments

if you do not try to do anything beyond what you have mastered you never progress (Ronald Asport).

You so determined l like that

i like this post

Its a nice way doing things different..this a nice one though @michelle.gent

Blog his down vote power into oblivion. See if he can keep up on downvoting. I always tried to reserve 3 of my votes for your stories. I will still try to support you. I hit up 5 whales, steemusa discord chat, post promotion chat, stellabella, mammassita's chat, and samstonehill, along with 3 witnesses, timcliff, someguy123, and aggoed, and of course ned. Asking them to apply pressure and to fix this madness. Of course tomarrow when I crawl out of bed I may be nothing but another greyed out guy, but that's okay, I have restarted my life in reality several times, I can do the same on steemit.

Same here. Wash, Rinse, Repeat, start again.

I took a break of three months and I'm back on the front page of the SteemWhales page Here - maybe that's what @transisto is worried about?

I don't know he says it's about the vote bots, and all, but I don't know. I hope you stay, and I hope we do not have to wait 3 months for more stories, but I can live with your choice. Sometime we need to make a stand. I have been discussing this with who will ever listen. It is funny how many people think it is because of you losing a few dollars, they do not understand that "I like to read" and I found your content to be some of the highest quality on here. They also do not understand that the down votes not only affect you, they pretty much negated my measly $0.010 vote. It is bad enough at that rate, but to completely and utterly make it a totally useless vote, well It irks me.

I hope you have a much better day today, than you did yesterday.

I've noticed that... they don't see what I've written, they only see what they think I've written and that is based on how they would react in a similar situation.

I came to Steemit with nothing. I shared my writing and received feedback, comments, praise, ideas, encouragement - you can't buy those things easily.

I've given books away in return for feedback and reviews and received nothing in return.

I come here, share my writing and receive all of those things, plus steem too - BONUS!

Taking away the Steem still leaves me with a readership, a following that I've built up. That's where the value is for me.

Yes, I do realise how fortunate I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74