Fact or Fiction? - 6

in #writing7 years ago

The story I wrote the other day [Here]

Was TRUTH!

Although the telling of the story was fabricated. I was at school with the lads that did the pool-table hijack and the Newkie Brown pilfering, but I was never in a position to see such goings-on. The teacher, the science class and the position of the class in the building - all true, but we never had opportunity to see out of the windows to that extent.

I’ll stay with the science class for this story, too.

Right at the beginning of the year, us pupils lined up outside the biology class. Mr Howe, a small man with a weird haircut (similar to the picture of Fester Addams from The Addams Family Values film) came out to the two lines of his victims for the coming year. He made us file into class and directed us to the seat we’d use for the rest of the year. He made us sit boy-girl-boy-girl.

We were all socially awkward when it came to the opposite sex and I remember none of us spoke a word to the person sitting next to us for at least a term and a half. That strategy worked then, Mr Howe!

I had just started acknowledging the lad that sat next to me and I noticed something a little odd. I looked… couldn’t work it out. I glanced away but I just couldn’t help myself. There was something not quite right and I had to look again.

Of course, you couldn’t just stare at the boy next to you. That would mean you loved him and people would talk, tease and embarrass you.

But there really was something not quite right.

I kept glancing to the side to take a look to see if I could figure it out.

“Stop looking at me,” he growled.

“There’s something different about you,” I said.

“Stop looking!”

Science classes were always double-lessons so when the bell went, Mr Howe left the room to make sure pupils leaving the other classes behaved. If he stood in the hall, everyone went to their next lesson in absolute silence. He had a tough reputation and most pupils feared him. In fact, such was the fear that few bragged about not being worried about him – just in case he found out.

I took advantage of Mt Howe’s absence and stared at the lad next to me. I couldn’t put my finger on it. What was it?

A moment of clarity hit me and I realised why the lad looked so different without there being anything outstanding about his appearance.

He had no eyebrows!

When realisation hit me, I gasped and pointed. I didn’t say anything, but the lad looked up from his work and glared at me.

I understood the meaning of the glare – ‘Shut up! Don’t tell anyone!’

“You’ve got no eyebrows,” I whispered.

Mr Howe came back into the classroom. He always moved silently and tried to take us by surprise. I shut up and tried to not let him see I was giggling.

The lad glared some more and I giggled.

By the end of the lesson I’d earned the legendary 350 word essay on concentration as punishment. To be delivered first thing the next morning.

Sometimes I thought he must give out so many essays in a day that he’d never miss just one, but common sense warned me - do NOT fall into the trap of fooling yourself, he could give out hundreds of the essays as punishment and he’d STILL miss even one. He came to find you the following day and you were in worse strife if you’d forgotten. Even if you’d not been to school the following day, you were expected to hand it in the day after. No one got away with it - No ONE!

One of the reasons I received the dreaded punishment was because of the explanation.

The lad, (name withheld to protect the ‘innocent’), had found an almost empty petrol (gas/fuel) canister. He thought he’d struck it lucky. A metal canister, heavy-duty with petrol in it too – win-win as far as a teenage lad was concerned.

He told me he didn’t know how much petrol was in the canister and he shook it a bit and still couldn’t gauge the amount. Then he had the bright idea of taking a look.

He couldn’t see all the way into the canister, so he…

Struck a match…

Yes, he did.

He struck a match near a petrol container and held it close enough so he could see inside it.

When he finished telling me how he’d lost his eyebrows, I burst out laughing. I clapped my hands over my mouth but it was too late - WAY too late. Mr Howe had heard me and he doled out the 350 word essay on concentration.

To both of us.

Fortunately, the lad deemed the punishment worth it for the laugh.

After that lesson, we got on great and whenever I saw him, we said hello and had time for a chat.

Pictures from Free to Use Google search

Sort:  

I am going to help people guess the truth.
I didn't go on a school trip one day and got put in Howe's class. The whole class got a 350 word essay, me too.
One thing he did do was break the end off the chalk before using the board. The squeaky sound must have bothered him. He used his thumb nail and broke it of, flipping it into the bin, from anywhere in the room. We used to move the bin. He still got it.

Hiii my friend @michelle.gent,

How are you and how is life going on, I hope you enjoyed your life much. after many days i Comment on your article. I always feel happy to see your post and try to comment on it. *** Fact Fiction*** story is nicely written by using your writing skills. very interesting and nice story.
Keep it up, my best wishes always for you.

UPVOTED

Stay Blessed.

This is really very interesting, amazing and funny story. You have created so much suspense in this story about the next lad. It's really funny and I think it's a mixture of both fact and fiction.
Thanks for the efforts to writing this.

I am guessing the truth. I've seen guys with no eyebrows too! lol

Haha. It must be funny, buuuut i think it s FICTION because if he was taking a look, no just the eyebrows were affected..and would have lost sight (i think). :D

He really was lucky not to lose his sight :)

That's an amazing story, I was waiting for the explanation and as occam rule might have it, turned out to be pretty obvious, yet not any less hilarious because of it :) Unfortunately, I have known people that ended a whole lot less fortunate than just missing eyebrows playing with the gasoline, that stuff is dangerous..

Yes, it really is dangerous. I think he was lucky that he only lost facial hair :)

Bhahahaha! I shouldn't laugh, but that was so funny! I'd like to say it's truth - but I fear he would have lost more than his eyebrows if he'd really done that. I have to say a mix of fact and fiction (but then, I'm really batting a thousand on these, which says just how good you are). lol.

Haha! I'm pleased I keep fooling you ;)

Yeah, this one is 100% truth :)

You sure are good at suspense and carrying your readers with you till when you are ready to release them.

When you were staring at the guy, I thought the next thing you would say would be that u fell in love with him but you shocked me with the "no brows".

Keep doing what you love @michelle.gent

Hahaha! No, there are a few guys from my year at school that I have a fondness for, but no love :)

I wish I've seen the world's probably only real pool-table hijack!

We were all socially awkward when it came to the opposite sex and I remember none of us spoke a word to the person sitting next to us for at least a term and a half.

This is so cute. : )

I would guess that this story is a mixture of truth and fiction - Mr. Howe is a real character and you did receive an essay punishment for giggling, but the boy didn't really burn his eyebrows, or did he?

Cheers!

All true! :) He did get burned :)

this is a ridiculous story, but I saw that in this situation, when people held a match near the gas tank - it was not just burned eyebrows. I do not exclude the fact that the guy could be lucky and gasoline vapors burned only his eyebrows. But I think it's Fiction.
It will be interesting to know if I am right this time :)

I hope you're not too disappointed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83