Fact or Fiction - 28

in #writing7 years ago

Pictures from Google - free to use - search

The stories about my dogs - Here - both TRUE


Today's story is one I'd forgotten about - truth be told, I don't remember much of this one. I'm going by stories my family tell about this event.

What you have to decide is whether the story is truth or fiction? Tell me in the comments.

When I was about three or four, my mother already had my brother, a babe in arms and (probably) another on the way. My mother had a miscarriage between my brother and our sister.

I cannot remember why we were there, but we were wandering around the churchyard in my mother's home village. We'd go and visit every Saturday and this one particular time, she decided to call in at the church.

It had never happened before and I'm pretty sure I'm the reason it never happened again.

The churchyard is ancient. The village was named in the Domesday Book and so you can guess how old the village and the church actually is.

Toward the back of the church, at the furthest end of the churchyard, the older graves lie. There’s a wall holding back the earth because a road runs alongside the churchyard and the ground level is a good 6’ above the road (higher still, in places).

IMG_3941.JPG

Back then, around half a century ago, ‘Health and Safety’ was such that you listened to your grandma’s words of wisdom. There were no labels on things telling you not to run with these items (scissors) and a stitch in time saved nine.

Given that the wall around the churchyard was sturdy and complete (no gaps for toddlers to make their way through) I had the run of the churchyard.

WOOHOO!

There are a lot of trees in that churchyard and playing hide and seek behind them all was fun.


Source

After a while, my mother must have got distracted by whatever reason we’d gone there for and she let me go longer and longer before she ‘found’ my hiding place.

I wandered around, looking at the pretty flowers in the vases on the ground – not picking them, though, I’d been told not to do that and I sort of got the gravity of the situation because I didn’t pick those flowers – it didn’t seem right.

My mother went across to the side of the churchyard, close to the road where the wall had collapsed. There’d been a land-slip and a number of graves had fallen into the road because the retaining wall collapsed and no longer held back the earth, graves, coffins… bones…

It was in all the local papers. I guess my mother went to have a peek.

During the time she was looking at nothing in particular because everything had been cleared up and set to rights before people were allowed back into the churchyard, I managed to find something fascinating too.

I don’t remember much of this (you’ll see why in a moment).

My mother couldn’t find me and became first worried, then alarmed… by the time she was frantic, a few other people had heard her calling my name and come to help find me.

I’m sure there were plenty of platitudes. “She can’t have gone far, the gates are all closed.” and “Don’t worry, we’ll find her.”

After a few minutes, everyone started to get worried and still no sign of a little red-haired tyke running about, playing hide and seek with all the new playmates.

My mother was in tears and told to sit down. My brother must have been getting heavy to carry, plus the pregnancy, early though it was. She certainly didn’t need the stress I was giving.

Half an hour doesn’t seem such a long time to be looking for someone, but it’s a very long time to be looking for a 4 year-old.

After a little while, someone heard me crying and it didn’t take long for them to find the only open grave in the whole graveyard.

I’d fallen in and possibly knocked myself out. I had a bump on the back of my head the size of a duck egg (so they said).

Two men clambered down to pick me up and hand me out of the grave. I still had to walk back to where we’d left my brother’s pram and I can imagine I whined all the way there.

Then we had to walk to my mother’s mother’s house, part way across the village before she could finally rest and get taken care of.

Like I said… Health and Safety? Not in those days!

Sort:  

That church dates from 1137 with the tower added in the 14th Century. Your family have been Baptised, Married and Buried there since at least 1504 so I can see the attraction of trying to dig them up to say hello.

i would say this ones true and you have probably heard your mother retell it 100 times over dinner ... my childhood story that gets brought up is when i was aboit 8 eating dinner with the family i started choking on nachos i mannaged to get the words out "hit me" i guess hoping for some sort of heinlich manouver , then my twin brother just punched me in the arm knocking me to the floor (witch did mannage to dislodge the nacho ) had everyone laughing pretty hard

This has to be true! I remember when i was about 8, me and my dad used to ring the church bells at Tibshelf, Claycross, Crooked spire and Ault Hucknall. The vicar at Tibshelf at the time had asked for local help to clear the graveyard up and we spent many hours playing whilst the adults cut grass and cleared up broken tree branches. My younger brother ended up on the wall at the bottom of that graveyard and fell over 15ft to the farm yard on the other side, duck egg is a good description for the bump he had on his forehead too haha!

Things we do as kids that we can't remember always get brought back up in family conversations i imagine they become fond memories even though slightly scary at the time.

I hope this is a fiction story.
However, It seems like mother story which is told to everyone who knows your childhood. That is embarrassing times for me. My mom always tells the story in which I pee on her and my father while sleeping LOL

giphy-downsized (1).gif

I think this is a truth of your childhood. And you have described this very beautifully. I really enjoyed the reading of your childhood adventure. Thanks for sharing your childhood memories with us @michelle.gent

This appears to be a work of fiction.

Stories like these are retold a million times at home. And even if you were too young to remember the actual incident. The repeating of the story would leave you with a memory clear as crystal.

The heart of a parent skips a beat if they lose sight of their young child for even a moment. Half an hour is a lifetime.

In today's day and age of over protective parents a scenario like this would be an absolute nightmare.

I think this story is true,
I was convinced as you say that this never happened again. Many probably would get frightened being stuck in an open graveyard. Hope this kind of incident never happen to anyone's child. This surely give chills to those being stuck in the pit

Children who are adventures always try to explore new things out of curiosity. It was a natural response with such emotions by a mother who loved her child.
It was a vivid like pictures what you said in sentences.
This story is also True to best of my guess.

Yesterday's story was true, I was lucky :)
Today's story is interesting to read, although it's not funny at all.
Children can often get lost and behave strangely. After reading my mixed feelings, I can not say exactly the truth or not :)
Therefore, I assume that this story is not entirely authentic

Its good story. I think it seems truth not a fiction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83