Fact or Fiction - 26

in #writing6 years ago

Pictures from Google - free to use - search

Yesterday's story Here was...

ALL TRUE

I lived in a semi-rural area and a lot of my school friends lived on farms so I suppose I knew what castration was, I'd just never seen it up close and personal before.

Poor boys!


Trev used to work night shift quite often. We have two children and when they still lived at home, we were often at a loss when Trev was at work – especially when he started at 6pm – what on earth were we to do until bedtime? (Not really, we were always busy).

On one particular winter’s night, the kids had been to ATC (Air Cadets) and it was dark and quite late when I went to fetch them home.

At that time, I had a Toyota Supra and they took it in turns to see which would be squashed in the back seat. I believe it was @danielles turn in the front seat, @storminatcup was in the back seat (complaining usually).

We drove home and were almost at our street when I noticed a car really close to the back of mine. The speed limit was 30MPH that changed to a 60MPH soon and the Supra had a lovely turn of acceleration. When the speed limit changed, I floored it and left the tail-gater behind. I indicated to turn down our street and to my dismay, the other car followed.

Always aware that I’m female, with two children and alone for the night, I took the car further down the street, stopped, turned off the lights and told the kids to duck down out of sight.

The other car passed us and I saw the driver looking at the car.

He made a U turn in the street ahead and as soon as he’d passed us again, I switched on the lights and drove off.

I watched in the rear-view mirror as he made another U turn and followed us.

Rather than turning right – the way most people would go because it led out of the estate – I turned left and turned another corner so he would assume we’d turned right to leave the estate.

I figured that if he followed us again, I’d go to the police station and sit outside leaning on the horn until help came. The kids were also on alert with their phones and would call the police if he came around the corner.

It was a scary five minutes (or more, I don’t remember). We sat with the engine running, facing the right way to make a swift get-away, in a cul-de-sac that was too wide for one car to block off effectively.

The other driver was fooled and he didn’t find us.

I wasn’t happy, however. The Supra is distinctive and if I parked it on our drive and the guy came back, he’d see it and then he’d know where we live. (Paranoia rules!)

I’d parked the car outside a neighbour’s house and the kids were amused that I’d thought of that. “Let him think we live there,” I said.

I phoned Trev and told him what had happened. He was concerned and worried and agreed that I should bring my car to him and use his.

Unfortunately, my car was low on petrol (gas, fuel) so we went to put some in the car, worrying whether we’d see the guy that followed us.

The tension in the Supra was intense. Both kids were being brave and I was trying hard not to show that I was also scared. I really do hate the fact that one person can make all of us afraid. I’m usually difficult to scare in that way, but when I also have my kids with me, it’s a whole different kettle of fish – 3 people I have to work at ensuring their safety.

We drove to the coal mine where Trev worked and swapped cars. We came home in his car and mine was left for him to come home in in the morning.

That night as we were going to bed, I told the kids to make sure I was awake if they needed to come into my room because I took one of my swords to bed with me that night.

Then I had another thought and I phoned Trev to tell him the same thing.

Would I have used the sword?

If my kids were in danger - ABSOLUTELY!


True or not? What do you think?

Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

From the post you made, I learned or learned something new that I did not know before. I'm a very good fan of you, I read all your posts. Your posts are very good to me, and so I hope we will be happy to post you for us. The information that you have on this post is very useful for many of us. So I hope your post will be very helpful for us

99.9% #Fact.
Today's story is true.
because you will use the sword!

I might be wrong we will find out tomorrow
Nice post @michelle.gent

#fact
Despite the fact that you also was afraid, I think if anything funny had happened, you would have still reached for your sword and used it. There is a hormone in us called adrenaline, also called flight and fright hormone. It makes us do what we least expect we could do.

😍 Interesting writing to read .....

I think that the story is true but maybe not about the sword??

The true part is you would use that sword. Pursuit part, well, without a motive i don't get the reason you have followed. Either way i appreciate your handling of situation. It's like an action movie :)

I'm going with not true. Just a hunch.

Though it absolutely could be true. Either way, it's a brave story!

And we all have to be aware of our surroundings (yes, more so today), and this is a great example of doing that! Thanks for sharing the story, or creating it! either way, I like it!

Very good post

For Yesterday Story I commented 50% fact and 50% fiction. the reason for that story was because I never ever seen horses fight with each other in my 26 years.
today story is 100% fact. because it happened to​ me also a few years ago. some bloody​ Rascals​ were followed me in the night and took my wallet, cellphones, ​and laptop. ;( ;(

The horses weren't fighting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44