Response to Ahe-ey-womanhood-an-original-novel-part-10 by @jamielefay

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Hi there,
This is the response to https://steemit.com/writing/@jamielefay/ahe-ey-womanhood-an-original-novel-part-10

I’ve seen some user having difficulties pronouncing Ahe’ey. I have a suggestion. Imagine you are sneezing. A….a…..a…..a….a……a….a…a…he’ey. LOL

Kidding aside, reading about this planet…or this alternative reality of a sort I am catching myself on a thought that’s I’ve already been there. All these jumping, running, sword fighting, cutting the heads off of the bad guys, defying the “g” force. I used to be a competitive runner, therefore, I know a thing or two about capabilities of a human body when it comes to athletic performance. It seems like the characters here don’t have a lactic acid buildup in muscles, or slowing down because of oxygen deprivation and a feeling of a painful pyramid in your lungs as you are getting to the end of a mile run and are collecting all your willpower for a final kick.

And then it down on me. This reality is none else but a computer game. Laws of physics don’t really apply and enemies are not real people but are monsters that not only ought to be killed, but you’d get extra points for it. None any of that Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment stuff. Kill at will.

Come to think of it, why not? Virtual reality more and more imposes on our daily life anyway and if you “can’t fight it – join it.” Thus, why not introduce computer game virtual reality into literature, which is also a virtual reality of a sort, only of a very old fashion sort. That’s what happens in writing of this novel. Instead of allowing the influx of human character texture into the virtual reality of the computer game, the author brought the texture of a computer game into a real life modeling. To me, Morgan feels not like a completely virtual character, but not as a human being either - a bionic woman, a cyborg.

Ok, now where do novel go? It would be dishonest of me to make plot predictions since I read the publisher’s intro to the book. What I would rather speak of is the other novel related developments. First of all the theme. The theme of the novel is a contemplation on the modern woman, application of feministic concepts in real life and evolution of the relationship between genders under this new paradigm. The most important part of this paradigm, as it looks to me, is how to combine femininity and power and productively engage it with male masculinity. Because I think women understand by now that if a man is a wimp he is not sexually attractive. I think that once the main characters finally get together, they will have to through of series of arm wrestling contests until they finally start pulling in the same direction. That’s what I see as the overall novel development strategy.

The other important consideration is the consideration of plot psychological high points, of which the first one would be the first lovemaking scene. The author throws many clues around and preparing the audience for that scene.

It is my guess that the most of the audience for this novel would be women. Those who don’t have much action in their personal life so they need to get away into a virtual reality to forget about emptiness, difficulties and offenses they undertake in their own lives. This is a graceful soil for feminism.

Please understand me correctly. I don’t think to men are against feminism in general and are pushing for female inequality. I just don’t think this is something that they would be interested in. Imagine, for instance, that clam’s brain evolved enough for them to become citizens. They would then become a minority group and will create their own movement. Let’s call it “clamism” where they would struggle for equal treatment of clams at the workplace, equal pay, etc. I am sure that in the spirit of political correctness people would support clams and their movement. However, I doubt they would be interested participating or even listening to their debates. All that is to say to say that the author has to really understand her audience and write in a way to keep their interest.

I listened to one of the female psychologists on YourTube, who discussed sexual male performance and the levels of their mastery in this subject. This lady broke male performance into ten different categories of which the highest was a man who makes a woman have an orgasm just by looking at him. According to her, this happens because most of the sexual tension and excitement happens in woman’s head. Thus, I think that the author prepares the mind of her audience to that first lovemaking scene, makes them anticipate the excitement and hopefully make a couple of them experience it as they read the scene itself.

Just my humble opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53