You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alicia (A Trans Short Story)

in #writing8 years ago

In the following sentence...

After years she had gained enough success to be able to tour the world and was making enough money by putting out album after album of critically acclaimed punk rock, but she always felt sad. Numb. Cold.

I have no problem with “she always felt sad. Numb. Cold.” However, I am really curious about the rest of it. Success doesn’t come just because some “years passed.” There’s go to be something else that triggered success and that something else, the most important and the most interesting part is missing in this narrative. Instead, it is concentrated on some tangential problem.

Sort:  

Yeah you're right, I just think with the length of the story and the intent I had with it some of the detail needed to be skipped over - possibly not the right choice but I didn't want to get bogged down with an overstuffed narrative. It may seem tangential but that wasn't my intention. Thanks for reading!

Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly do you mean, when you said that "Alicia wasn’t always Alicia"? Do you imply that the boy, in the pre-Aicia era, had a sex change operation or that the boy, at some point in time, came out of the closet and told the World "I am gay"?

I think you can take from it whatever you like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44