Is hell really paved with good intentions?

in #writing8 years ago




Source1 Source2

The multistory building where I currently reside has many security gates: to the building, to the living quarters, etc. Every time people go through those gates they have to put their fingers into a finger recognition panel. Usually, this works like magic, but, sometimes, when a finger gets wet these panels become stubborn and, yet, other times it can get stubborn without any apparent reason. Finally, there are people like me whom panel categorically refuses to recognize. Not sure why is that but I always have the problem with security. While I pass through any country border patrol a security officer always eyeballs me with suspicion, stop me with righteous pleasure and then release with visible regret. Remember this one incident when I already passed the security gates in Dusseldorf and was happily followed other people through the long wavy corridor to the airplane, two policemen, armed to teeth ran after me and scream “You, stop! Hands against the wall!" I happily obliged for I didn’t even have the carry-on and my wallet had no money. After a thorough search, they released me with again visible regret and even disappointment. “Is that it gentlemen? Aren’t you going to x-ray my stomach, like they did in Russia." That I added for giggles because in Russian they did things like this only back in Soviet Times. In response, two officers gave me a look full of the most delightful wrath. But I digressed.

Anyhow, I and, to be fair, those rare people who have poorly recognizable fingerprints, are given special little plastic charms, swiping which over the panel, opens up the numeric dial, where I push the password to attain my "open sesame" door access.

In the general, universal scheme of things this isn’t such a big deal, but with time this becomes a little annoyance, like a tiny constant headache. Especially, when you came to the door first and a number of people behind you are waiting while you finally enter all the numbers. You can just feel their impatience and see with your mind how they roll eyes to each other. It’s the same feeling when you are driving on the freeway in the fast lane and some very old and careful lady drives there unshakable 55 miles/hour.

Ok, fast forward to today. A man walked in front of me with the shopping cart, opens the door and without adding any pleasantries, made a little push to make the door to swing time little longer.

Now, to be fair, he didn’t need to do that, because should he not do that, I would have enough time to get through anyway. And yet, I felt this was a very nice thing to do this little nudge.

I read in some book "A man doesn’t say thank you with words. A man says thank you with actions." I think this spreads to being polite and friendly as well. In fact, I felt like a warm wave inside me stirred up, even though the man didn’t even turn his head in my direction. This little nudge, this gesture, was simply a demonstration of good intentions.

They say that "hell is paved with good intentions." Is this really so? Surely, when good intentions are nothing but a lip service, they qualify for hell pavement. But what if they are sincere and are supported with a little nudge?

Sort:  

Sorry for your condition that causes you inconvenience. :) Well written story!

Thank you! Appreciated you've read and commented.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14