You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #0 - The Origin Story!

in #writing7 years ago

This totally resonates with me because I used to love comic books and MAD Magazine. None of the other kids had the same humor -- and frankly, I knew I was different as a child but never knew exactly why until I was assessed with Asperger's as an adult in my 30s. Which is not to say that you're on the scale too but why I get you and the quirky, geeky things. LOL

Another thing we have in common is getting stuck in a line for several seconds. For example: The Harry Potter books. Did you know that I couldn't read the first book until after I saw the movie? It's because every time I saw Hermione I kept pausing. My mind could not get past the name because I didn't know how it was pronounced. When I saw the movie I finally knew! By then I'd read Books 2 and 3 before I returned to Book 1. LOL But that's what my brain does. If it's a spelling or grammar error or a word/name that I can't pronounce, I become a scratchy record.

btw - my favorite comic book series was Star Wars. One of these days I need to start collecting them again. My mother threw mine out a long, long time ago. Very sad.

Sort:  

I'm on the scale too, I was often thought of as being hyperactive as a child. To what degree, I can't say for sure. But, I'm definitely on there. Nice to here that even though we're miles and cultures apart, there are a lot of similarities like that. Though I think most of my differences are brought upon by misunderstood introversion.

Ach! Those thick ones are a real hurdle for me! That's why I trained myself to just fill in gaps so that I could skip lines and get on with it. The struggle is real, but I don't have to tell you that haha! It's comforting to hear of others having their own ticks. I have quite a few annoying ones myself and it'll take all day just to list them. Thanks for sharing these here though, my friend. You don't know the relief this brings :D

There are tons of new Star Wars series that really pay homage to the classics. I think you'll find them enjoyable to read. Though I'm sure that paperback copies of the old ones are easily attainable as well. It's never too late to regain the collection.

Thanks for stopping by, Mere! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63