Steem Addict: How The Blockchain Swallowed Me Whole

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I have been on steemit.com for 56 days, my account was created on 2017-06-12 at exactly 21:06:30. I was the 186,420th person or robot to join the platform.

computer-1106900_960_720.jpg

I was never a social media person, yes I do have an account on facebook, twitter, reddit but I rarely access them or bother to share a comment, tweet or likes. I actually forgot my passwords for most these platforms, that is how much they mean to me. But in steemit it is a little different. Before we get into that let me walk you through how I got here, after all who the hell knows about steemit, a part from curious offbeat weirdos that constantly look for shady, bizarre stuff on the internet and coming up with useless findings most of the time. One day, I wore my scuba diving gear and decided to adventure myself in the depth of a dark and cavernous ocean called The Bitcoin.

To put you in context, I am a small business owner and was interested in using technology to scale my business. Early this year I naturally started to look for solutions, all centralized of course, and I never felt comfortable with the risks they come with especially handling transactions until I finally stumbled upon blockchains, which I heard of but never truly took time to understand what it was all about. I was curious since it was the technology that gave birth to Bitcoin which happens to be a solution for quick secure transfer of value between two parties. I did not know it at that time of course, but that was the day I became obsessed with cryptocurrencies and any of its derivatives.

I started investigating the crypto market which lead me to learn about the many other blockchains until I stumbled upon STEEM randomly. I briefly read about it, did not give it much importance with all the ICO's and overload of new cryptocurrency flooding the market on daily basis, I thought it was one of those worthless crypto pump and dump schemes.

After a few days separating my first encounter with STEEM, one of my friends said that he found out about a revolutionary social media platform that uses a blockchain with a mind blowing business model that is able to reward content creators. When I heard those words something clicked in my head and I saw a million ways at once of how gigantic and exciting this could be, I was overwhelmed with thoughts and zoned out for few seconds that felt like years.

steemit.jpg

As soon as I got home I created an account and decided to check it out and see how it functions firsthand. I slowly went from observer to commentator to content creator I became absorbed by the platform I now do most of my daily reading on the platform and I am committing to writing more and more whenever possible. I am very much enjoying the idea of sharing my thoughts in writing with people in this platform, something I would have possibly never done if it was not for steemit and the amazing people that are working hard "mining it" and sustaining it.

Steemit is now taking up more than 50% of my internet traffic easily. When you think about it it was 0% less than two months ago, it is insane. It completely changed many of my habits and took a good half of my internet browsing time. I finally participate in social interaction on the internet, something I had never done before and did not see myself ever doing. I am very pleased with the outcome and extremely excited to see where this will go and how long will this addiction last.


Note: The post title was stolen from @stellabelle


Thanks for reading.
@mehdibca

Sort:  

hahaha the pic is spot on!

Its amazing right? I had the same feeling when i joined about a month ago. Just like you ,i hate social media like many others out there but when i was introduced to steemit , my hate for social media turned into love . steemit and steem are amazing and i believe it has a big future.

It is different on here, something about the community that is very attractive. It feels as if more people here are interested in things you are interested in. Which is not necessarily the case on other larger platforms.. Thanks for reading!! :)

you are most welcome

Nice post and thanks for share

I enjoy reading this blog so much. The language is so vivid, such as "I wore my scuba diving gear and decided to advanture myself in the depth of a dark and cavernous ocean called The Bitcoin.
No doubt, I believe there is a story behind everyone who joined Steemit. I entered the cryptocurrency world very occasionally. Nobody told me about cryptocurrency and blockchain before. Someday I noticed a beautiful and radiant woman who had a lot of fans in Facebook, I just asked curiously asked who she was and what Onecoin was, thus I dropped the "rabbit hole" at a stroke, then I learned there's a new world called cryptocurrency based on wonderful blockchain technology which can change our life.

Thank you @ginafraser I am glad you enjoyed the read :)
Yes blockchain technology is on the path of changing everybody's life whether they are aware of its existence or not!

Steemit is amazing but it steals our time like all other social media.

True but I find it more enriching than other Social Medias.

We have the same thought! Thanks for posting this!

STEEMIT is a black hole that will consume us all LOL :P
By the way Bitcoin just broke its all time high record.

Yeah with infinite gravity. Yeah it exceeded 3300$ from what I have seen.

it'll do that to ya. so much info with the added benefit of a great community.

We need to push good content creators further, even though we do have a fair amount at this moment. But to scale we need to absorb and create more.

Yes its the same for me, at home and at work!

Fun addiction, as long as it does not keep you away from your responsibilities. :)

Lol I can totally relate. I am addicted. The thing that sucks is I have been off work all summer and go back to work in two days. My steemit time is going to be cut by like 90%!

Anyways, welcome brother!

You will adapt haha! Well at least we will have you stop by 10% of the time, still something :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68643.75
ETH 3779.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67