Shining

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

"No one will ever know."

"You can't leave me here."

"You had your chance. I told you to resteemit and you ignored me."

"I...I didn't know."

"And now it's too late, you're out of resources."

"But if you leave me here, no one will ever find me. All I ever wanted was..."

"What? You think there aren't a hundred others like you? Their bones are underneath your feet."

"But I have bitcoin and rewards, I can pay. It wasn't my fault that a bot found me. It's what they do."

"Maybe you wanted them to find you. Flaunting your haikus and blogs. Oh, no! You have this coming." His wicked laugh echoed in the chamber. "I'm going to freeze your site and when I do, don't expect Mctiller to come to your rescue. He's next ya know."

Carlotta finally gathered her courage. "It won't matter, like you said there are a hundred more just like me and a hundred more like Mctiller, like Bananafish. We'll just keep multiplying. We'll always be there with our soul exposed." Carlotta let her face fall into the single chard of light. "It was worth it you know. To be writing again. To feel myself come alive."

"Wait, you're taking this a little too seriously. I'm just going to block you."

"You think that's nothing?" Tears streamed from her hazel eyes. "I tried for hours to post a revision of my work. I thought I could fix the typo, but now it will linger forever like a boil on my ass, for all the others writers to see, senkora and redheadpei...all of them laughing at me. I should have run spell check, but I let my ego persuade me that I was better than that, I didn't need that crutch."

"Look sweetie, we all need a little help sometime. It's no big deal."

"Please, one more contest, a mere 2000 words, surely you cannot begrudge me that?"

"Look, I gotta go, I have a real life to get back to, kids, the whole shebang."

"Wait!!!!! Pleeease don't leave me." Carlotta went to her feed...but he was gone, as if he had never been.

She grabbed the bottle of gin and chugged desperately at it hoping for a few drops more. "I'll contact the board, I'll post photographs."

The hysteria finally took over. She posted the sentence "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy." No matter how many times she did it, no one responded. This is hell, she whispered into the sterile night. This is hell.

Sort:  

Wow, I love this! Very, very nice. It captures the woeful mindset of us noobs when you slave away at writing, and no one notices! Well I may not have much voting power (yet), but you have my vote, and my follow! Oh yes, and my resteem!

Bless you for your charity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47