The Dark Cloud Rises: The Dolbin School Book 2 --Chapter 10--It Will Probably Hurt

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

 I am serializing my middle grade novel The Dolbin School Book 2: The Dark Cloud Rises here on Steemit.

I serialized the first book in the series Dolbin School for the Extraordinary back in the summer.  

You can get The Dark Cloud Rises on Kindle and in paperback.  

The book is leveled for 4th grade readers and up.  

It's the story of a group of boys who discover they have Extra human abilities and are sent to a school for students with their skills.  And with any school there is bullying.

But what happens when the bully is a super-hero?  

Click here for Chapter 1, and Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9

Summary, Mark has been in a wheelchair due to his running accident.  Using the advanced medicine of the Dolbin School he can heal faster.  But odds are, it's gonna hurt a little.

Chapter 10 It Will Probably Hurt


Monday began like a Monday.  Students were slow to get up and get to class.  By lunchtime the boys felt they were waking up.  Mark rolled his wheelchair to the table where Jake, Brad, and Bruce were already eating.

“How’s the leg?” asked Bruce.

“Fine.  I’m tired of being in this cast.  I think it’s getting fixed tomorrow morning, I have to go to the medical wing to have it looked at.  I hoping they can get me out of it today.”

Henry and Cal joined the table and slammed down their lunch trays making noise.  “Yeah, you will probably get out of it tomorrow.  They will probably give you a shot that will speed up the healing process, and the cast will come off.  At least that is what happened with me when I broke my leg back in January,” explained Henry.

“How did you break your leg?” asked Mark.

“Same way you did – by running and then tripping over my own feet.  I was new here, like you are, and was learning how to run fast.”

“How long before you think I can run fast again?”

“I think Professor O’Grady and Mr. Banner are going to say a couple of more weeks.  O’Grady is going to tell you that the muscles aren’t ready to let you run fast.”

Mark frowned.

Henry continued, “But hey, at least you won’t be in the wheelchair and cast.”

“True.”

Brad joined in, “Why would it take two more weeks?  If he can heal it this quickly without the cast, why not heal it quickly enough for him to be able to run?”

“I’m not sure you would have to ask him yourself,” replied Henry.  “That is a good question though, Rocketman. You should ask him tomorrow.”

“Rocketman?” asked Jake.  “Are you guys really going to call him Rocketman?”

“Yeah, Rocketman.  At least while he is in the chair, we’ll see how fast he is once he gets out of the chair,” smiled Bruce.  “Of course Brad here would never be in a cast if he broke his leg.  After a few seconds he would just jump right up and keep playing.  Must be nice.”  Bruce teasingly nudged Brad with his elbow.

“Trust me when I say when I get injured, it hurts.  It can hurt a lot.  So don’t let the skill fool you.  I heal quicker, but there is a trade-off.  I learned that when I was laying in the medical wing covered in burns.  The burns hurt, but so did the healing.”

Mark perked up, “So you’re saying that when I go in to visit O’Grady tomorrow that the healing will probably hurt?”

“It will a little,” replied Henry.

“Well, that’s not fun.”

“It’s better than being in cast for weeks,” said Henry.

“Let’s hope so,” said Mark.

Mrs. Brisby walked up next to the table.  “Boys, you need to hurry up and finish your lunch it’s almost time to go.”

The boys finished their meal quickly and headed to their classes.


Sort:  

Hi, how are you? It's been a while. As always, you're content is great.

Thank you, that's an excellent comment coming from you! I'm good. Like a lot of people the rise in Steem as got me excited again about posting.

Indeed, we are excited :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99