That time I turned five and got pulled into the world of Star Wars toys

in #writing8 years ago

 My daughter turned five today. 

In fact I wrote a letter to her.

When I turned five I got pulled into the world of Star Wars toys.

I got Luke Skywalker and C-3PO. I don’t remember asking for the toys. I remember my parents just knowing what I would like. 

They choose well. 

I still have both figures.

 

They are standing in glass case near where I write this. 

They are not in mint condition. Paint is faded. The tip of Luke’s lightsaber is broken off. 

Somewhere in the late Carter/early Reagan administration C-3PO lost his hand. 

Luckily dad had super glue. You can’t even tell now that he lost his hand. 

I had to have new Star Wars toys from then on. Every birthday in May and Christmas in December for the next six years. 

And now, in middle age, they seemed to have returned. 

“Just get Martin something from Star Wars.” 

Yeah, it works. 

I wonder if my daughter will have such love for a toy. She has so many toys. Will there be toys that she has that will make it with her to middle age? 

Last year all she could talk about was the “Merida Shooter”, a bow and arrow set from the movie Brave. Seriously, for weeks that’s all we heard about. 

She screamed for joy when she opened it and I teared up at her joy. 

But I haven’t seen the Merida shooter for a while. 

I will probably have to put Luke and 3PO in my will.  

Hopefully my grandchildren will take care of them.  


Other Posts I think you will like:

Top Ten Reasons Why Star Wars is the Great Movie Ever Made


Sort:  

Star Wars is a movie that I also love me.
However, my family does not have much interest in Star Wars.
Therefore, in the home you do not have only a desk calendar of Star Wars.
I also wanted a C-3PO and R2-D2 of toys from adult even from childhood.

Nice. When Eposide 1 came out, I bought a ton of figures. Since then I have given them away to a good friend. All except the vintage 70's Yoda, Chewbacca, and Ben.

yoda
chewbacca
ben

*Images for illustration purposes only (not actual pictures of my figures)

Star Wars is very interesting!!
I watch all movie.

Im glad Star wars is back even if I wanst the biggest fan of the newest one, it jolts imagination and creates a new generation of young creator and future writers. Then we will all reap the rewards :)

Another fine nostalgic post my friend.

Ironically, my mother recently shipped my small collection of SW figures to me from back home. I am pretty lucky that my daughter loves Star Wars as much as me.

Thank you for sharing.

That's a great pic!

I upvoted You

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57