You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ideal investments: invest in yourself

in #writing8 years ago

Wholeheartedly agree. I see this from writer James Altucher all the time. As a teacher I didn't go and get my master's degree because it would have cost me $15,000 and three years of my life. At $15,000 it would have taken an additional ten years to breakeven. So 3 years to get the degree and 10 years to pay it off. I realized that photographing two weddings a year would have gotten me the same increase in pay without the added debt. When I publish books on Kindle the return has been WAY More than any stock could have given me. I completely agree.

Sort:  

Then there's the flip side - someone like me who took out 100K to do my MFA. But like I wrote in my post the other day, I'd do it all again because it was a huge investment in myself.

I actually have a Master's of Divinity. I'm a former minister. That Masters cost a lot of money but I learned more from that one than any of my other degrees. (I have three.) So I guess it depends on the program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73