Editing and Marking up the manuscript--or the part I hate

in #writing7 years ago

Editing--I hate this part

I printed the first full copy of my next book, Dolbin School 4-Finals,  off the printer the other day.  This is the part of the process I hate.  Editing.  Going through, fixing mistakes, rephrasing.

I would rather  be creating new words.  But I've learned I need to do this to help my copy editor.  

The more work I do now the easier I can make it for her, and the better a job she does.

I had a few former teacher colleagues tell me to not use red when editing, too many bad memories about writing and red pens.

But my middle age eyes need to see the corrections. 

So to appease my teacher friends I choose fuscia.  Not quite red, but still yells at me to fix it.

Now, only 155 pages to go.


Sort:  

Waiting ☺️👍

Oh man, I hear ya man. After thinking all the editing was done - I just read my book proof and found a dozen things I need to fix before approving it to be published. Ugh, seems like it never ends.

So interesting to see and hear about your process!

Best of luck on your work. Hope it all turns out well. I hated this myself in journalism and screenplay writing classes back at the university. Nothing compared to editing a book so kudos to you.

Regards,

@steemitph

Congratulations @mctiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You still do all your edits by hand? That's some kind of dedication there.

No, I do a lot of edits by cycling as I write, going back through as I write. But when i reach the end of a book, I print it out and go through it before I send it to my proofer. The cleaner copy I send her the better job she does.

I just find there are things I can only see on paper and not a computer screen.

Best of luck..

very nice i hear it its very nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98