Dear Steemit, I love you but I can't be exclusive anymore, I have to get back to my book.

in #writing8 years ago

It's time to get back to the book

My 22,000 word, neglected book. Need to finish it.


I love you Steemit.

I admit I am writing this mostly for myself. But Steemit we need to talk.

I've made several posts about writing books. But you have knocked me off the horse. I admit, it's the money. You treated me very well in July. So thank you.

But kids don't read Steemit.

Kids don't read Steemit posts in paperback.

I need to get back to that.

You see Amazon has been paying me to write for children. And it's been great to get reviews from kids.

You can't give me that.

Kids don't (AND shouldn't) be reading be reading Steemit.

Plus, you only pay me for my stuff up to 30 days.

Amazon pays me for books I published three years ago. And they will continue to pay me for the rest of my life, and then my heirs for 70 years after I die.

Steemit are you able to do that?

Now, don't cry. I'm not leaving you.

But we can't be exclusive anymore. Your 12 hour pay periods are very exciting. But my goodness they are exhausting.

Amazon is steady. Month in, month out payments come in. No need to worry about a 30 day cut-off.

Steemit, it's been an amazing summer. I've met new friends. Paid for a new starter in my car. Taken my wife out to a nice dinner. So thank you.

But I need to get back to my book.


See...posts about writing or of my writing:

Generating Ideas for Writing

Dolbin School for the Extraordinary Chapter 1-Jake Cooper


Sort:  

I think the 30 day pay cutoff is a real limitation and also that posts and comments will be locked (no edits) after 30 days. I hope that the developers are able to introduce some solutions. Thank you for sharing your own perspective as an author.

First, thank you for the upvote.
Second, I love Steemit. But the 12 hour pay thing has now become like a 12 hour coffee rush. Followed by a massive crash. (But I like the quick payments too...)
Third, I love writing books for because I create value for me and my family. In my will, my family will own the copyrights to my books, and they control them for 60-70 years after my death. THAT is LONG TERM thinking.

Steemit is wonderful, but really it is short term profit. I have to keep writing and producing everyday just to keep up.

When I release a new book, that new book will help sell my older books.

But that analogy really doesn't translate here on Steemit. I do link to older posts, but now I literally don't get paid for those older posts.

Yes, in theory I could writea post that earns me $5,000 in a day.

Or I could work on a book that will earn me MANY times more than that over my lifetime.

Again, thank you for your Upvote.

@smooth I just posted about this on someone else's blog in a comment. It is a big issue because it puts people off writing anything that is designed to last longer than 30 days. Even if payouts stopped it would be good if people could at least comment and upvote to get some discussion continuing. If you talk to @ned or @dan maybe you could mention it to them?

@ned, @dan, myself and other major stake holders are all aware of the issues this causes, have discussed it, and would all like to see solutions. There are technical issues involved and some compromises need to be made to keep moving ahead with the project but hopefully they won't be permanent. Thanks again for the feedback. Understanding the practical use cases for authors may be helpful in getting this addressed.

@smooth Thanks nice to know you guys are listening. It is much appreciated:)

Thank you for hearing me. My silly post was mostly for me. Steemit is so addictive I had to write something to remind myself to get back to the project.

No. I'm not leaving. I just have to prioritize my projects. Thank you again.

I like the 30 day idea, but what are the alternatives? My only problem is after 1 day posts get lost in a sea of chum.... I am a Chum Chump.

This is a good perspective on the benefits and limitations of steemit.

I will need to develop my writing more and publish again because I want to have those benefits you describe.

Thanks for the encouragement and inspiration!

I know! If my writing is crap...the silence is deafening!
I really have to dig deep & write with passion.

I hear you @mctiller. Today is my first day on steemit, and I've been here for 3 hours when I should have been working on my book. I did, in that time, make my first post. I have to admit that I enjoyed writing something other than fiction for a while. I would check out your article on generating ideas, but my problem is that I have too many ideas and not enough time to write. I'm starting to write shorter stories so I can empty out my head.

thanks for the reminder @mctiller . I thought I was the only one chasing more than one (writing) rabbits at a time...

Thanks for sharing your perspective. I enjoyed reading this :)

Good luck on your book @mctiller!

Why not write your book and post snip bits of it when you have some time:) You never know could make an extra buck here or there :)
GL

I'm actually considering this. But according to the Amazon TOS for being exclusive to them for the Kindle. I can't have the book available digitally anyway else. I need to figure something out.

Is it something we said?!?!? lol I hear you, it gets derailing at times. But passive income.... hmmm good also. We will see you when we see you and looking forward to what stepping back and gaining fresh insight brings!

good for you. But, I have to admit it is a little concerning to lose such an active dolphin. Good luck on the book.

Im not leaving. Just complaining to myself. Steemit is a drug. I need to step back a little.

I didnt realize i was a dolphin. Maybe a baby dolphin. Thanks.

I feel the same way, this thing is hynotizing to say the least. take a break before it takes controll of your brain.

Maybe we gave you Some inspiration too? Cheers and good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60402.59
ETH 3346.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42