The Unspoken word

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

To my Broken Muse,


It has been a couple of months now since we last talked. Yet I can still remember the timbre of your voice as you sang to me as I fall asleep. Oh, how you love those Sara Bareilles songs. Do you know I still visit your covers from time to time?

image.png

Source

We stumbled into each other as we were both were using Steemit to make sense of our anxiety and depression. With our deep-rooted fear of being judged and unwanted, we found solace in the kind words and support. We both knew that we could count on one another to understand what it is like to live our lives.

Your art spoke of the heaviness and anxiety that you felt. My words carried the weight of the world bearing me down. In Steemit we found our own private world to try to slay the demons in our head.

Do you remember that day last December? You told me that you had a new account and that it was going to be the new you. That was the day that I decided a month before to be my final day in Steemit. That I would be gone yet hearing how excited you were I instead blew my candle and wrote some more. It was a rebirth for both us that day.

I asked you once, quoting from the lyrics of Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol.

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

  • Snow Patrol

You answered yes.

Comments, turned to messages, messages turned to calls. You would be the last voice I hear at night and the first message in the morning. Everything was good or so I thought...

You called crying that you did not get in. You poured your heart out. You said you gave it your all but they chose someone from their circle. I did not want to say it was expected, I did not want to say that it was politics and circle jerking. Those were not the words for that situation.

I told you to try again and again and they would see that you have so much to offer. That you my broken muse will be a great addition. You cried like never before. You really took this hard and all I wanted to do was to go to you and wrap you in my warmth and say things are going to be ok. Things will work out if you try again.

The old feeling of being not good enough and being unwanted gushed out of the surface. I tried my best to console you. You said that you are tired of crying and will go to rest early. That was the first night you didn't sing for me.

As we were saying good night, I paused and hesitated. I wanted to keep you talking but you said you wanted to rest. I silently mouthed the words "I love you, please don't go" but I could not say it out loud.

Little did I know that would be the last conversation we would have. No messages the next morning. No answers to my calls, no posts for the following days. It was as if you never existed. Ghosted.

You told me once that you often did this to people that you love. This is such a strange way of telling me that you love me.

So to my broken muse will you appear one of these days and would I finally have the chance to tell you the words that I long to have spoken on that fateful night. Will I ever have the chance to tell you that I love you?

Your Dark Knight,
Maverick



P.S.

I have never forgiven them for driving you away.

This is an entry to the contest by @dazzlingprincess Last Minute Love Notes Contest ($10sbd worth of giveaways)

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Sort:  

Is this fiction? If not, a man needs names!

Wish it was Max but it's a painful story of my early days in Steemit.

Incidentally I have gotten so many dm asking for her two Steemit names and they'll pull some strings but I know all her contact information but she just ghosted.

Wow what I story. I feel for you and your steemit muse, rejection is the worst feeling.

Thanks Raj for dropping by. I got nervous when I saw your name in the replies.

It's a sad story.

Lol I don't know why you'd be nervous ;-) It's a really well told story full of emotion and pathos for the reader. The fact that it is a true story makes it even more tangible and heart achingly tragic. Thanks for sharing what is probably something that still hurts, it's a shame that she was driven away from steemit but that is the nature of online relationships I think. People can just disappear due to circumstances that no one knows anything about.

haha because you are the master of the poety and fiction workshop in Promo-mentors and so I know the bar is high with you haha.

I know I was really sad when she left. She drew beautifully, had a great voice and she slayed me with her words in poetry and fiction. She had so many talents sadly promoting herself was not one of them and she left because she could not play the game.

Such is life.

Reminds me of a Sara B song which goes:

♩ This is my winter song.
December never felt so wrong,
'Cause you're not where you belong;
Inside my arms.♩

I hope she resurfaces in your life so you can love all her pain away. ❤

Wow thanks for the great Comment!

Hey there @maverickinvictus! You were featured on the #49th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts.
Congratulations!!!

https://steemit.com/steemitfamilyph/@steemitfamilyph/daily-steemit-family-ph-featured-post-49

Yeah!!! Thanks for the feature!

this is beautiful mav. really touched my heart, also broken from loss at the moment. thank you for sharing your honest words, your sincere raw emotions. this is beautiful writing and so deserving, so take off that untalented tag stat because it is in no way true.

heal, and love, and heal some more <3

Thanks IT for the wonderful comment. Hearing her sing in one of her covers while I was writing this really gave me some sad memories.

I love you said

heal, and love, and heal some more <3

I feel you @maverickinvictus rejection from once we love is as painful as hell :'( spicies of life :)

Thanks Sherie. Hopefully I didn't make you too sad.

NO worries :) carry on! that's what life makes beautiful

If this is real, you should have uttered those words that you silently whispered to yourself. Lovely piece and heartfelt. If she didn't know, she ought to...do it. dont live in regret later on. who knows she is your soulmate.

It is real and one of those things that I regretted.

It was a lost chance and hopefully there is still another one.

Aww bud :( I hope she is okay and that you cross paths again one day <3
I'm sure she would be welcome in the empire...
Maybe she will read this and reach out!

You would love her she is funny and quirky and so talented.
Maybe she'll be back someday.

I am so sorry you lost her, @maverickinvictus! I have been ghosted before it definitely hurts. Not getting any closure and always wondering if that person is okay. Hopefully one day she will find her way back to you. :(

I hope she is ok she is so talented and would be a waste if she is gone :(

This was a beautiful and heartfelt piece - sometimes people just cannot process their feelings to a point of being unable to deal with whatever it is that triggers them in the first place (you, I'm guessing, in this case). It sounds like she was hurting a lot and I'm sorry she ghosted you bud :(

Thank you for liking it. She was so hurt and as much as i tried to reach out she wanted nher solitude.

Maybe someday we will have closure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47