ANGER: An Alter Ego

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered the number of times you have let unpleasant emotions get the better of you? That moment of rage when everything else does not matter and you just feel like doing unimaginable things? Well, I bet you cannot count. We are all human anyway and it is just a natural feeling. Everyone just have different responses to anger and that is the difference between us.

Anger is unpredictable and can make you do "IMPOSSICANT" things. Actions taken at the peak of that moment are often disastrous. There are only two things that can stop extreme actions influenced by anger:

  • SELF DISCIPLINE
  • TARGET OUT OF REACH

Self discipline in this wise, means self control. ability to restrain oneself without letting emotions spur you into action. The second one is actually a funny one that we all have experienced at one point or the other. Let me be a bit more clearer, A simple example;
Some years ago, I had his annoying friend that would constantly get on my nerves. On this particular day, I was extremely infuriated and I didn't think twice before picking up this huge stone. I spent the next few minutes chasing him around but he did well to outrun me. Had it been I had got within aim rage, I could have killed someone.

I ran and ran until I grew tired and disposed the stone.

ANGER CAN MAKE YOU DO OR SAY UNIMAGINABLE THINGS

IMAGE SOURCE

You will be fearless

It is of no doubt that we also have been victims of circumstances, circumstances that kept us at bay during a moment of rage. Your crush is probably around, people are calming your nerves or as I stated up there, target out of reach. When any of these happens, we often sit down to devise a plan that would "satisfy" the rage. In clearer terms, we look for ways to get back at the cause of the temper. Could be physical or emotional. Either way, it doesn't end so well. Here are two real life stories.

THE PHYSICAL

IMAGE SOURCE
Francis (NOT REAL NAME) woke up to the loud arguments of his next door neighbour. Paul and his wife had gotten into their routine rows that early morning. It was 1/1/2018. In no time, Francis rushed to the scene and tried to separate the couple but all his efforts proved abortive. Out of frustration, he blurted out

" Before you guys got here, we never had trouble sleeping. Is it only you and your wife? You are always at loggerheads"

Those words struck Paul and it subsequently escalated the fight. Paul and his wife forgot their differences and fought in unison against Francis. This drew the attention of more neighbours who swooped in to settle the fracas. Both parties apologized to another and the matter 'died'. Unknowing to Francis, Paul nurtured his anger and he hatched a plan. He broke into Francis' house while he slept and hacked him. Poor Francis struggled for dear life but he was no match for the raging Paul. Did I mention that Francis had a wife? Well she's a widow now with three kids to take care of. What a start to the year huh? A red letter day for the family. No thanks to anger.

I bet life would ever be the same again for Francis' family. Especially new year, a time which should be of celebration would constantly be a reminder of the horror that had taken place.

THE EMOTIONAL

IMAGE SOURCE

At that moment, nothing except your feelings matters

People get angry and in order to get back at the other party, they mock their shortcomings. Nothing can ever be more disappointing than that.

There can be forgiveness but the words will always keep ringing

It is often when the damage as been done and the culprit (anger) simmers down that regret sets in. Just come to think of it. A guy is bluntly told

Little wonder you are a sickle cell patient

Just because of a disagreement. Now forgiveness can be done but those words can not be forgotten. A grave mistake that may never be corrected.

A guy recently sought for advice. He had just insulted his aunt. Mocked rather. He had just mocked her unmarried status over a mere disagreement and has left the aunt heartbroken. In such a case, one would begin to wonder if he had always been happy about her spinster tag or never cared about her. Truth is, those words were never intended nor envisaged. It all started with a flare of temper

IT BEGETS GRUDGES

IMAGE SOURCE
Grudge, just as defined by the dictionary

A persistent feeling of ill will or resentment resulting from a past insult or injury

People can hold grudges for as long as 50years while others barely keep it for a day. It all boils down to the mindset. On a closer look, grudges do more harm than good (If there's any good at all). The sad part is, the so called enemy might even be unaware and you are just the one fighting an artificial emotional battle.

  • ANGER BEGETS HATE
  • HATE BEGETS GRUDGES
  • ANGER BEGETS GRUDGES

A logical syllogism isn't it?

Emancipate yourself from self imposed slavery

THE BLAME GAME

IMAGE SOURCE
As humans, we are always scared to face realities and own up to responsibilities. We tend to trade blame games. What we must learn however, is that no one is ever going to answer for us. The heavy responsibility rests solely on the basis of our actions.

"It was the devil"
" I heard a voice"
" I don't know how it happened"

These are common phrases used by those who have opted to take the longer route around the truth. Actions are actions. Whether influenced by anger or happiness, one thing is sure: the responsibility has never for once crossed the ambit of our discretion . Anger is always, and has always been a ticking time bomb.

© Ogundare Opeyemi
Thanks to @camzy for this portrait
image
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, COMMENT

Sort:  

"There are only two things that can stop extreme actions influenced by anger:
SELF DISCIPLINE
TARGET OUT OF REACH"
Hmm. I can really relate to your write-up.Being a jovial and calm person, people at times want to try your patience.
SELF-DISCIPLINE I've learnt not to allow people, things or circumstances control me.
TARGET OUT OF REACH
There was a time I was as my aunt's and a funny woman came visiting and within two minutes of her arrival , pushed me so hard I almost fell(women and drama). My aunt was giving me looks to ignore her. She then came to challenge me in the kitchen while I was making hot pap(what can you do, it was like an africa magic drama), coming close to me with her chest. I had to laugh because it was really funny, sudden and unexpected. I just smiled and told her to move away before I 'mistankenly' pour the hot boiling pap on her face. Lol. Nobody told her to leave the kitchen immediately.
She was very cautious with me afterwards😁.
Nigerians like unnecessary drama, en.
@adedoyinwealth

Hahaha. Lmao! The anger must have been boiling hot inside you and you couldn't contain it with your superficial smile so you had to talk. Combination of self discipline and target out of reach 😂😂😂

Lol. She made herself reachable/close, had to warn her to step back bcos I was with a lethal weapon.😂

I guess we all have to deal with anger because we are human beings and it's deep in our roots to tend to aggression.
I found blessing in thinking about anything in the most objective way it's even possible. You can distance yourself from the problems and calm down. Just focus and try to understand that you can't change a lot of stuff that happens- you need to accept it and try not to drown in emotions.

Nice topic you're writing about :-)

Thanks for your contribution.. If most people see it that way, the world would be a Better place to live in.

An angry individual can destroy what he suffered 20 years for within 20 minutes.
Anger is the worse part of every human.
May God help me conquer my anger too.

Exactly! I remember in my state some years back. Motorists protested and cut of trees meant for decoration in just 10 minutes. These were beautiful decorations that had been used to beautify the street and it took about 5 years to nurture them.

I love this post... Educated

Wow! This is an amazing post. I love the fact that you used stories to back your points. I think anger comes from pride. The 'how can you talk to me like that' mentality, then you become so puffed that you need to deal with that person. Its a very gravious habit that should be trashed

Seriously it is. Some people get overly aggressive when angry too and that is... So dangerous

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70