To whoever puts some real effort in writing, but doesn't recieve any meaningful reward

in #writing8 years ago (edited)


Here are some tips to help you succeed better:

Participate in discussions

By participating you get noticed. People might like your comment, check out your blog and upvote all your previous articles. By participating you learn how to express your thoughts in a way that people appreciate. It's very smart to learn by writing short comments, compared to spending 4 hours just to find out it doesn't work.

Upvote underdogs

Minnows like you greatly appreciate every single up-vote. They will take notice of the names and return the favor. It's also healthy for the whole platform.

Try to keep it short

People have limited time, so try to keep it concise. You will save time, and in case you only get a few cents, you won't feel so bad. This is worth practising. Just try to convey your message with as few words as possible.

Ride the wave

If you can, follow the trends. When people's minds are on certain topics, it's easier to get attention. If you participate in conversations or Slack, you will be more aware of them. For example this post is a consequence of someone's comment in Slack, and I believe it will recieve upvotes.

Use images

They convey emotions, and are pleasant on the eye. They make reading easier. They also make the post more attractive on the front page.

Mind your writing-style and formatting

Posts with poor formatting seem to get little up-votes. Just take notice of what kind of formatting makes a post a nice read. There are probably a hundred guides on how to use Markdown here on Steem. I have little to say about style, other than it is worth thinking about.

You can also ask for feedback on your writing.

Be authentic

It's hard to pinpoint the exact reason, but you can feel if a writer isn't authentic, and that tastes bad. Being authentic gives the impression that you like yourself as you are, and others like such people. Be the best version of you!

If you are new or otherwise unknown, don't jump too quickly into the subject matter. Provide a small lead-in or introduction to help the reader relate to you and share your point of view. If you dive right in, the reader might get a feeling that the whole article is plagiarized or stolen.

Make sure the reader can follow along

Read your article with a little distance. Is there a clear thread and a natural flow to it? If your story bounces around, starts from the middle and changes context without warning, it will be very hard to like. Make sure you provide some context in the beginning.

Remember that the community is still small

There are just a few topics that interest a big portion of the community. This is just how it is, but time will fix it. If your area of expertise lies outside of the interest of the majority here, you might want to save your stories for a later time, and practice with something random.

Last but not least:

As a general rule, keep observing the successful posts and writers. It's possible to learn. Many of the best writers here have practiced for decades before Steem without any significant reward. So don't get discouraged or bitter. Put yourself together, observe the successful people, learn and try again.
I have also noticed several people who write some awesome articles and don't get noticed. Some of them keep posting, and at some point gain a reputation for quality content. There are also several heroes, who search for underappreciated articles and writers. You might get noticed by them.

Sort:  

Your post highlights something that will remain a hurdle for me. I'm somewhat skeptical by nature, and my comments tend to reflect that. Authenticity is important, but as a cynic it will often rub people the wrong way. It is hard to win a popularity contest by voicing contrary opinions.

Good point. We men tend to be experts in spotting problems. Personally I think it's possible to develop into a more positive person by consciously paying attention to my attitude and cultivating positive thoughts. Thus, I can remain genuine while being more positive. I'm sure authenticity and positivity aren't diametrically opposed attributes.

I read 2 of your posts and find them indeed very valuable . It is such a new incredibly overwhelming land I am exploring . I wish formatting , putting pictures etc would be less complicated and editing should be allowed as well :) after you hit that publish button . I only wrote 2 times in the past week since I became a member . I was jumping around , could have minimized especially my introduction and put the correct tags . Oh well , it's fun so far and I will probably continue until I found my individual own formula to let my thoughts flow and go that others show some interest .
I am digging deeper and deeper .....for now , I am only practicing to write , to feel more comfortable in this fascinating cyberworld of creatives .
40 years I lived without the internet , so I am blown away what doors steemit will open for our future .
Upvotes , down-votes ...all fine to me .

Agreed on all points. Its not about how much you work on your post. It's about what other people think of your content.
It's not that different from business...you may work hard but if no one cares about your product or service, why would they buy?

thank you for your post, I will try it out hopefully it works. How would I be able to join discussions?

I guess he means what you are doing right now, or alternatively the slack channel, which can be found in the menu.

thank you I didn't even know about the slack channel.

Thank you, that was helpful, Oxnard Ca. USA, peace out.

Thank you for your insight. All good things to keep in mind and try to follow.

Thank you for the info. Being very new to blogging, it is difficult to know where to get started sometimes.

Good advice! Being a new blogger myself, it's frustrating to put a lot of time and effort into an article and not instantly receive positive feedback.

Here is your positive feedback : keep on going ! I write because it makes me feel better after , even though I am not so happy after reading it online . Journals are more safe !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42