You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Illegal: a true story of love, revolution and crossing borders [Ch.21]

in #writing5 years ago

It's interesting what you say about "having always lived in a place where I was the racial majority". Made me think about the fact that in the past ten fifteen years I have been living in places where I was the racial minority. Sometimes I zoom out of the picture and I see this, sometimes I see it in other people's eyes, but most of the time I don't even realize I am a minority. Maybe because it remains a strong minority (I belong to the so-called "white" group). But then thinking about it, in my home country Italy although I look like the majority, ethnically and culturally speaking I have always belonged to a minority (jew - atheist family against the so-called catholic majority). But then...how could you be part of the majority in New York, where the majority is of mixed origins?

Sort:  

I suppose I only realized it because it was a change.

Good point about New York, though that's New York City. I had previously lived in New York State and the NYC suburbs (Long Island) which was majority-white as well as Hartford, CT which while fairly diverse was also majority-white.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15