How can a 46 years old man cope with a foreign society? What's your role in society?

in #writing6 years ago

Yesterday I had a small talk with my father, one that I wish none of you will ever have, we were talking about the possibility of him fleeing the country alone and sending me money to complete my studies, and the final decision to flee the country if the situation gets worse for us or the government doesn't leave this year
 
He told me that the problem is that he is useless, the only thing he knows how to do is talking, he has been a salesman all of his life and is a very intelligent men with a lot of mental capabilities but is not the type of person to get into a new country to work doing tasks in any other area, and is unlikely that he would find a job as a salesman right at arrival and that make me think a lot

Where is the value of a person as a piece of the big machine that its society? Is on the knowledge and mental capacities or in the physical abilities?

I think is both of them, in the assembly line mental effort has no importance, but at a management level all the work is done with the purest metal process, but, what happens when we switch sides?

What happens if we suddenly put the manager of the airline as a pilot, and we put the pilot as the manager? maybe the plane would crash and the company would bankrupt in a short time

My father is 46 years old, he's a great salesman and a great businessman, but he knows nothing about any other kind of job. What will happen when he faces the reality of a foreign land where the most common job offer will be cleaning dishes in a restaurant?

This puts a lot of mental work on me because I will face something similar soon if I'm to leave the country. What will be my place in this new society?

 Leave me your thoughts in the comments, adding some background of why my father might be leaving, we currently live on Venezuela 

Sort:  

I left Venezuela at age 52. I had to learn how to be a teller, how to promote services to tourists and sales, prior to get my actual job. Neither of them I did before. I am living in a city where people is considered useless after 35. Yeap. Believe it or not, they look for "students finishing or recently graduated in [...], with 5 or more years experience in A,B,C,D,...W and X. Experience in Y and Z not mandatory, but desirable. Aged 18 to 25." No bullshit!
My friend, your dad has a huge advantage. He is a professional salesman. His first job abroad, will be to sale himself as THE man to hire in whatever he choses to work. You'll be surprised he'll do it well. Once hired, you'll be surprised again he'll learn and master that job sooner than later. You see, there is something that cast you, as an emigrant, from the bunch. That something is Attitude. Not a bad one, by the way. I can not guarantee success to you or your dad. It's his call to emigrate and once abroad, to succeed. But if he decides to, he'll oughta dare. No other choice but to dare.
Good luck, paisano.

His inane skill will appear in that place. Could be teaching language. Playing harmonica. Or more complex. The need could make it arise.

Indeed, the need is the mother of all the inventions

Claramente si tuviese una carrera universitaria que avalara su conocimiento seria más fácil. Creo que su oportunidad no acaba ahí, seria prudente buscar previamente trabajo desde Venezuela, a ver si encuentra algo.

En cuanto a ti, sí te toca empezar de 0, realmente no tienes ningún conocimiento avalado ni tampoco eres experto en nada, somos jóvenes, por lo tanto nos podemos permitir empezar por trabajos menores e ir subiendo, hay que tener expectativas. Y lamentablemente, esta es la realidad que nos tocó vivir como venezolanos.

I want to encourage you that he is not useless even though he may feel this way. I have seen natural born salesmen talk their way into anything. The ability to use speech to get things done, make things happen, or get people to buy things is a very powerful skill. I hope he will remember his strengths as he prepares to leave the country, and I wish both of you the best wherever your journey takes you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87