My Happy Place

in #writing8 years ago



Southwestern corner of Bayon, Angkor Thom, Siem Reap Cambodia, swinging in my hammock, my happy place here on planet earth, watching elephants walk by. I say hello with my eyes. Winking back, their intelligence shines but they are too busy being slave driven with tourists on their backs to stop, or chat about the seven lovely geese that landed to drink and feed in the nearby pond. Besides, the elephant knows their size would spook them and force a cackle, quack-like sound. The 'customers' on their back don't even notice the beauty before them, selfie sticks in the way, while the elephant waits for a chance to scavenge a coconut rind left by careless fools. Butterflies and dragonflies whirl and wisp on the winds of their wings above the same pond, drinking and seeking a mate in a sacred eternal dance. Massive stones carefully stacked and carved by some geniuses almost a thousand years ago create the most mind mesmerizing temple- in my eyes, all for the Buddha. Too long since my last blessed awakening here in this beatific place. I returned to Cambodia three months and three weeks ago and the last few weeks been sick or asleep like the dead. Ah, to be truly awake again, alive, and hope to remain so but know too oft' how I fall, like the rest into delusions of self. But now, there is only here- now. Ah, swing on child, swing on.



Sort:  

Brought me back to each time I have arrived at the Bayon. Subsequent visits are never quite as mesmerizing as the first, but this site is like no other indeed. Slowing down as you've done allows one to truly experience the grandeur of this place - soaking it in instead of hitting site after site on a map as well all tend to do. Stay well.

Thank you. I'm glad you understand. I've never been one to rush, especially in a place such as this. Have you been during Khmer New Year when it is all lit up and you can walk in at night? Truly a sight to behold. Be well.

So far I've managed to not be around for that... sounds way better than being in PP for the same event! I have a strange image that I took at the Bayon one evening when they were having a concert on the north side. Spotlights shooting up in a fan pattern, but stopping somewhere just above the uppermost parts of the roofline as seen from the South side.

I haven't seen anything like that except for Khmer New Year but sounds cool... They really do go all out for it though. Do you live in PP?

Nope, Denver. I have some Khmer family nowadays. I'll see about posting that pic I was talking about as it was really interesting.

Denver is great. Seems it's grown immensely dense in the last decade or so. You have a Khmer wife? Or how do you have Khmer family in Denver?

wow beautiful i wish to visit this place one day!

Life goes by pretty fast, but has a funny way. Hope you make it, and thanks for the comment. Be well.

Beautiful! one more place where I now want to visit)

Thanks for the kind words.

sounds more relaxing to sit back and watch...looks a great place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38