You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reading free writing is like eating McDonald's

in #writing6 years ago

Where do you get the words you read?

Most of what I read is "on demand" - it answers a question I have. Been a while since I read any fiction because of the urgency / need of my non-fiction requirements.

By on-demand that includes Kindle books. I use Amazon Kindle as a paid search engine. Amazes me, however, how many people are charging $9 USD for what are essentially brochures or what should have been blog posts.

It means I am prioritizing get to the fricken point already over "prose". I don't need 3 acts, just get to the punchline.

But it also means the reading for pleasure has taken a back seat. That is a shame.

Trying to reduce the mental clutter with things like Unroll.me so I can spend more time reading good stuff rather than spam ;)

( I do get your designforhackers.com emails )

Sort:  

Kindle as a paid search engine – I love that. I've been noticing it being that lately. I actually just published what was originally going to be a blog post as a Kindle short read. You might find it interesting. It's called How to Write a Book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46