Vocab-ability–2 (ag, act = act, urge) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes)

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.   (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE
1)Act
I tend to act before thinking...my bad
2)Agent
I thought the agent was looking for immigrants...he was only here for a beer.
3)Activate
Be careful to not activate the bomb! Remember: red with red, blue with blue.
4)Agenda
I have to check my agenda, to see when we can lunch together.
5)Retroactive
The deadline for the new project was retroactive until last week.

(I will comment if I have time, and if I find the entry to be sufficiently comment-worthy.)

Good work. I also appreciate the wit, particularly in #2 and #3. And that in #5, if the wit was intended. (I believe it was.)

Cheers (and a bit of added %)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE
1)Act
Life is like theater, sometimes I have to act to keep the stage.
2)Agent
Development workers are also known as change agents, because they bring slow behavior change into communities.
3)Activate
I have to activate myself to keep up with your posts, as you are publishing at high pace and on a daily basis!
4)Agenda
I always have a busy agenda because I schedule more than time and energy would allow me to do.
5)Retroactive
In the old times, the Roman law was retroactive, therefore many criminals were punished for crimes they were not sanctioned yet.

Good work. I love the wit in #5, and the subtle hints of wit in other parts. Keep up the good work and continue to "Activate Thyself!"

p.s. #5 should say "crimes they had not committed yet."

Cheers!

My Vocab Practice :

  1. Act :
    You should act wisely.
  2. Agent :
    The tourists were disguised CIA agents.
  3. Activate :
    Clicking the Agree tab will activate the software download.
  4. Agenda :
    This news channel is working on American agenda.
  5. Retroactive :
    The new bonuses are retroactive to last month.

Good work, but you might want to try to include a bit more detail in your sentences – detail that clarifies the meaning through the context.

Thanks for participating!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Act
    Women should act modestly in public.
  2. Agent
    She hired a secret agent to spy on her
    husband.
  3. Activate
    You have to register your number to
    activate it.
  4. Agenda
    The school principal had laid the
    agenda before starting the meeting.
  5. Retroactive
    The Justice Department had
    opposed the retroactive application
    of the guidelines.

Good work. But #5 is not quite correct in its usage. Check it out in a dictionary and see if you can understand why. If you're still not clear, I might find time in my busy day to clarify.

Yeah got it. I had changed it already can u pls. check? Thanks

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Act
    His acts contradicts his words.
  2. Agent
    I booked my trip through a travel agent.
  3. Activate
    enter the password to activate the bomb.
  4. Agenda
    I satarted an NGO with an agenda to help the needy.
  5. Retroactive
    My boss gave me a raise, retroactive to the beginning of the month.

Good work. But you could make longer and more detailed sentences, to clarify the meaning in context.

Well this is my 2nd entry only, as i said I'm poor in English vocabulary, communication and grammar, I'm improving, you should appreciate my work as English is not my first language 😊 anyways there is 3rd post from you that i haven't gone through, that is bit difficult, will give my best to have that done 👍

Get Free Daily Upvotes!

http://cutt.us/Q8vGy

Really great articles
You are a wonderful person providing us with great information
I wish you a happy weekend

How many Vocab-abilities you'll be uploading during a week? Cheers from México

really awesome and helpful dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43