My Heroes, People Who Influence My Life #2: Jordan Peterson

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

If you’re harmless you’re not virtuous, you’re just harmless. You’re like a rabbit; a rabbit isn’t virtuous, it just can’t do anything except get eaten! that’s not virtuous. if you’re a monster, and you don’t act monstrously, then you’re virtuous.

Does He Really Require an Introduction:

What can I say about this man, He is a clinical psychologist, a professor and researcher at the University of Toronto who previously taught at Harvard, a writer and one of the strongest cultural critics I have ever seen. I admire his vocal stance against PC culture and the way he defines the meaning of life just has given me one of the biggest "Ahaaaaaaa" moments of my life.

His Outlook on Life and it’s Meaning:

One of the things I love most about his body of work is his exploration into what life means. To boil it down, he acknowledges the suffering and the pain and he emphasizes time and again that it isn’t something to run from, but it’s something to overcome. He preaches this point time and again in his lectures to his students. I just feel like he sees the world for what it truly is, acknowledges that and gives direct effective advice that is not idealistic nor -for the lack of a better term- “fluffy”.

(The Greatest Speech Every Student Should Hear)[

]

! (How to cope with pain and hardship) [

]

His Anti-PC Stance and the Beautiful Way in which He Argues:

First, let me explain where I stand on this. I feel that while pursuing justice and equality we have reached a point were society started to ignore factual differences and natural tendencies, thus causing a new wave of oppression (of sorts). Just look at all the Tumblr feminists (with respect to the actual progressive feminists out there) and all the ethnic accusations out there. Before learning of my hero here, I used to feel alone in my opinion and I started doubting myself, then enteeeeeeeer Peterson!!!! I was surprised by his insights truly, and the way he articulates his arguments. He doesn't attack your person, nor belittles you if you differ with him, actually he validates your points, respects you for them and then attempts to try to show you things from his point of view and by god is he convincing. Just look at at this clips:


#In the End:
Words truly fail me when describing how I feel about Dr Peterson. From his body of research to his political stances and ideologies, you are bound to learn something. So I highly encourage you to go look him up yourself but just separate him from his "fans". Some can be ... too enthusiastic maybe.


As usual, I aim to start a conversation down in the comments, feel free to tell me what you think, do you like him? do you hate him? tell me what you think, aslo please leave an upvote and resteem, it helps alot.

Sort:  

You got a 11.61% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @mahmoud-shafik!

This post has received a 2.68 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @mahmoud-shafik.

Congratulations @mahmoud-shafik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49