The logic limitation or why I became a Dragon

in #writing7 years ago

knight.jpgWhen I was a child, I grew up thinking everyone was the same. Not that everybody had the same personality, but that everybody was human. It is just logical to assume that every member of a species behaved within their biological limitations.

Great was my surprise when, suddenly, I realized I was the only human left in my classroom. I don't know when, or how, it happened, but my best friend became last summer an Apache helicopter. Why? He just said he always was an Apache helicopter. Baffled, I checked my surroundings. I saw pixies, mermen, and goblins. Three cows, five anacondas, eight goats and a big, single bull. And the teacher, the teacher was a praying mantis.

The weeks passed and I was becoming certain that I was the only human left in the world. Not even my parents, the people I admired the most were immune to this curse. My dad, I discovered, was a dog, and my mom a lioness. A blind one, might I add. Or maybe she decided she was blind, who knows? I don't understand anything anymore.

I thought for a brief moment that a temple of sanity was to be found on the internet, where they said was the last bastion of the fight for humanity. But the more I spent time with these so-called "humans", the more I realized they were more flawed, irrational and angry than all the mythical beasts they swore to slay. Especially angry they were. Some are ghosts, others sableyes, and some are flares. But most of them are a combination of sodium chloride and H2SO4.

Months after losing all hope, I decided that I was the last human on all of the planet. Can't they see how idiotic they are? They are humans! Sometimes, I comprehend that the cursed one is me, limited by this human shell of mine, bounded by the great philosophers and the laws of logic and mathematics. But then, I saw it. A knight in shining armor. We walked together and chatted for a little be, but I knew he knew that I knew that he knew that I was human. The knight was polite, eloquent, and everything I always imagined a human should be. But those final words destroyed me.

  —Well, goodbye. See you around.

Just that? Just like that, the knight destroyed me. But I should thank the knight for that. Thanks to the knight, I discovered what I was. I was a dragon, a red, big, fire-breathing dragon! Now I rule over all of those mythical creatures, destroying their tiny bubbles, puny arguments, and laughable rhetoric.

And, at the end of the day, I'll always strive to find the knight and have our long awaited battle, and I'll lose, and the knight will finally slay the dragon, because that's what I want, and who is anybody to tell me that I am not a dragon being constantly slain by a knight?

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mafnewman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Congratulations @mafnewman, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63