Writer’s Block and a Love for People

in #writing6 years ago

That blank page staring back at you as if it is a white ghost sent to haunt you. You sit there gazing and hoping that words will come so that you can cast the shadow from you and feel a sense of accomplishment. Dramatic? Yes. And maybe not too far from your reality.

If you have been writing on Steemit for any length of time, then you have had moments where you don’t know what to write. The chances are good that you have even read a few articles on Steemit about finding things to write about!

I am not here to detract from any of those suggestions, but merely to highlight an attitude I find in myself - and possibly you find in yourself - that those authors have briefly touched on before.

One of the most helpful pieces of advice that I find in articles about writer’s block is the encouragement to leave your work. That may sound counterintuitive when the whole goal is to finish what you started, but hear me out for a second.

Most often when I am having trouble finding the words, it is not for a lack of knowledge. Rather, it is for a lack of application.

I don’t agree with the phrase knowledge is power - I do agree that applied knowledge is power. The most vivid example of that application is listening to people, and/or teaching them what you have been learning.

My tendency is to read and research multiple hours a day. That is not a bad habit per say, for we all have a responsibility to grow and become better each day. My problem comes when I sacrifice meeting new people for the sake of researching more.

There are incredible conversations that occur when we go out and hear what is going on in the lives of people. It amazes me day in and day out how the things we are reading, or they are reading, can be the exact solution to what we are struggling with.

That is not by accident, and I do not believe it is supposed to be uncommon either. There is a rhythm to learning and living that we are wired to enjoy, and it is a beautiful thing when it happens.

One habit that has helped me immensely is meeting 3 new people every day. I won’t say that it was easy to implement, because it was not. However, the combination of books to consume and people to share the knowledge with has been immeasurably fruitful in my life.

Just a few hours ago I spoke with a friend who is dealing with the exact things I am reading about in a book. His face lit up when I told him what I was reading, and my soul soared as I was able to learn twice from teaching.

Moments like that don’t happen when we are only reading and writing. We can still pump out incredible amounts of work with those habits, and yet in my experience there is a soulishness missing in our words. We miss the reason many of us started to grow through our reading to begin with - we want to be more equipped to love and serve people.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Seriously I love you for this

My tendency is to read and research multiple hours a day. That is not a bad habit per say, for we all have a responsibility to grow and become better each day. My problem comes when I sacrifice meeting new people for the sake of researching more.

This is part of the problem I experience with my dad. He always wants to see me reading and asking questions forgetting my social life which he knows fully well that I love making new friends and being with friends.

Yes I know we have to draw line not to be carried away with our social life but not allowing it to suffer.
@lydon.sipe thanks for this enlightenment. Hope this will reach All parents.

Thank you! Hope you are able to find a balance, @godswill.

That is a wonderful daily goal of meeting 3 new people a day. I practice something similar which is to bring positivity to the people I interact with on a daily basis. Also I agree learning is so important to a thriving life. Recently, I have found taking a class is a good way to do this and also meet and interact with people. We have wonderful community centers in Vancouver. My son are there just about everyday, taking one class or another. Very rewarding and enriching.

I enjoyed your blog immensely, Lydon:)

Those are some wonderful habits you and your son have! Taking a class is a great idea - I may follow your lead in that. :)

In my opinion, writing is about mood
If the mood is down, the inspiration is hard to come by
I usually go hangouts with the intention of forgetting everything
Suddenly the idea came along the breeze while I was riding the motorcycle
And if that happens, I want to go home to make it written
it happened when I was making deadline song lyrics, because I used to be active as a musician
Just a personal experience

Love hearing personal experience. That makes it tangible for all of us.

With my pleasure, kind regards 😊

All I can say is what I do personally. I post almost every single day. I look at it like show and tell. I am not always writing about something as much as I am showing and telling what is going on. It may not be wildly popular, but it is real and fun too LOL.

I look at it like show and tell.

That makes a lot of sense. I certainly find your blogs fun and enjoyable!

It is not an easy task to write in steemit, especially for people who do not have the habit of reading and perhaps also a low intellectual training. However, we should not give up and the only possible solution is to continue publishing and improving every day, of course be in communication with other associate members of steemit. I found it interesting that you put these reflections in your post. Best regards @lydon.sype

And that is something you continually do, Felix. Thank you for your consistent and kind comments.

Thank you dear friend @lydon.sipe. I always try, even with my spanglish LOL. Thanks for your support

It's like I've always hammered into someone who loved to make up elaborate budgets -Preparing a budget is easy in comparison to managing one.

Knowledge + understanding + action = wisdom.

Haha, I was about to reply when I saw John’s comments here as well. Y’all are just real.

lol....I didn't see his comment until now.....see? we are in tune.....even though sometimes we march to the beat of our drum :)

I love planning - executing? It's such an intimidating word. I don't get writers block because for me, writing is dreaming and words come easy. I know that fellow @countrygirl mentioned - he's more a man of thought, than action, but all things are subject to change. (everyone's got to change sometime - Right?)

everyone’s got to change sometime - right?

Change has a way of changing us. :)

You got a 1.82% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lydon.sipe!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Half of the time i get stuck on what to write hahah that's just steemit things lol :D

How beautifully you portrait the situation.
Completely agreed with all your points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44