I Don’t Know What to Write Today

in #writing6 years ago

Most of us have been in the situation where we had no clue what to write about. The day was full, kids were needy, or the vegetative state sounds really appealing.

It is times like this that having articles written in advance is super helpful. Yet, unless you planned ahead or have a treasure trove to pull from, that extra article is not an option.

I am one that does not have a plethora of articles to lean on at times. However, there is a habit that has been a happy medium for me as I continue writing on Steemit.

Articles to Write List

Throughout my day, there will be items that peak my interest and ideas for an article form.

The sources for these ideas are varied and change from day to day, but there are a few that are consistent.

Conversations with people are some of my best idea generators. Whether it is late night with my wife, at the office with my friends, or walking through the grocery store and overhearing a factoid, conversations are my go to for articles.

What I like to do is keep a list of article titles or thoughts that I want to expound upon on a work list in my phone.

Having the easy access to jot down random bunny trails that come after the idea is percolating has worked wonders for my writing.

I will often hear something or see something that plants the seed for an article and write out the first couple sentences on my phone.

Once I am able to sit down later on and develop my thoughts more, then I finish writing.

News and Podcasts

My backups for article ideas are what I read or listen to on a daily basis.

There have been a few times when I was by myself or traveling for multiple hours and conversations were not an option.

My YouTube watch list is quite helpful at times like this. Typically I have 5-6 hours of videos on queue so there is rarely a shortage of nuggets to glean from.

If the subject is explained well in the video then I’ll just post it and give my 3 cents on the matter.

Some of the discussions that start here on Steemit are the best when there is a video to watch. Goes to show what another perspective will do for your presentation.

Hope this is helpful for everyone! You are more than welcome to share your writing habits and idea sources in the comments.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Nothing more intimidating than an empty page... I loved the post 🌹

Especially when there is a deadline.... thank you Marianda. You are so sweet.

Every day Life speaks to us - if we're blocked, we haven't taken the time to hear that still small voice - solitude, the desert, is where inspiration begins :)

solitude, the desert, is where inspiration begins :)

I agree. Life is where ideas happen, but I certainly need peace and quiet to write. :)

It is times like this that having articles written in advance is super helpful.

Have you seen that magical pre-written article unicorn? It has never made an appearance in my part of Idaho, lol!

On a more serious note, I totally appreciated your timely post, for this week has been a bit of a struggle getting quality posts written and posted. I'm one of those people that inspiration strikes randomly throughout the day. I can't tell you how many times a thought or something to write about will hit me at the library and I will jot it down for further development later. Must be the surroundings😊

Thank you for offering us a glimpse into lydon writing world, it was excellent! Hope you and your amazing wife are having a splendid evening!

I can't tell you how many times a thought or something to write about will hit me at the library and I will jot it down for further development later. Must be the surroundings😊

I cannot think of a better surrounding for Sources, lol.

A most blessed evening to you as well dear @generikat!

Still searching for that pre-written article unicorn with you. 😂

I have a very large "to be written" list, but it is presently out of date. I need to pull it out and republish it. Here's what I think may be the most recent version:

My "Steemit Tickler File"

Wow, it is really out of date... :O

I get article ideas around the clock. My biggest failing is that I all too often neglect to write them down, and they are thus lost.

I enjoyed hearing your thoughts on this topic! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

You are one of my inspirations for writing down article ideas. Sometimes I wonder how you sleep with all the percolating thoughts.

Hahahahahahaha!

The answer to "how" is that sometimes I don't sleep. The percolating thoughts keep me awake! ;)

Lol....

I believe it. Sometimes I think sleep is a bother, lol.

Great post about not having anything to say in a post. haha....it's helpful to know you are not the only one....or I'm not the only one who doesn't always know what to write or post.

I didn't post today because of the same reason.

Great post about not having anything to say in a post.

Lol, thank you. Reminds me of people who share a picture of a post, and say great post. ;) 😄

follow for follow?

Actually, I was thinking of Facebook where a picture of a fence post makes me laugh. 😄

oh....lol. I'm not a FB person so I didn't get that but now I do. One of those jokes ... my sister used to take milk out of the fridge when her kids would complain about something small and she'd ask them - "are you going to milk this for all it's worth?" all the while hold up the jug. lol .... she had a bunch of these.

Lol, that is a good one! I love corny puns.

I live by lists now!

Lol, I hear you!

For me, a lot of ideas keep floating in my head till the moment i sit to pen them down; and then you are totally blank. Lol it happens when you have two toddlers and the only time you get is when they are asleep.

And yes you are right; healthy conversations help A LOT. Only if it doesn't end up in an argument. Lol

Lol it happens when you have two toddlers and the only time you get is when they are asleep.

Thank you for keeping them a priority.

You take the time to think and work through your writing - it shows in your replies. That shows me you are a person of integrity who cares - thank you.

I felt the exact same way today!! I think its a friday thing.. or at least I'll blame it on the Friday effect anyways lol Glad I wasn't alone

Lol, there are a few things going on Friday nights. :)

Haha you’ve got a good point! There’s also probably less people overall on steemit on Friday as well!

i am not good in writing but still try to figure out what to do or not

You do well and the hard work shows.

haha i do the same thing too, to get inspired and it worked out! the most amazing among youtube,things i listen in my everyday life etc etc is as you mentioned too the conviersation i have with family, friends and co-workers. those ideas are the best ones i think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42