Finding Humor Amidst Feminism and Patriarchy

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I love reading politically incorrect articles. Listening to the logic of this age can be downright maddening at times, and it is nice to read some facts from time to time.

One piece I read recently is called 5 Questions Every Man Should Ask On A First Date To Weed Out The Man-Hating Feminists.

I have to admit, upon reading that title I chuckled a bit.

While I never went on a date with a man-hating feminist, the few I have met are enough to leave me grateful for the amazing wife that I have.

Filtering The Fog

Aside from the humor found in Mr Walsh’s perspective, I found a refreshing balance to the ongoing discussion of feminism and the patriarchy.

It is difficult to even have a conversation with folks under the age of 35 most of the time as any disagreement is seen as a personal attack.

Whatever happened to confidence in your beliefs and a willingness to hear other ideas without feeling like you must wear a coat of arms?

To be fair, I struggled for some time to not put on my own coat of arms when hearing my wife’s thoughts on the matter.

If we had to label our views, she would lean more feminist, and myself more patriarchy.

Our main arguments have been around these issues, and more than once we had to tailor the conversation till another time.

It is articles like the one from Matt Walsh that I find most helpful as it helps us see both sides in an amusing fashion.

Conflict can be a rough thing to navigate and it is always encouraging to find a third point of reference.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

The girl in the photo gives some idea of despair, with so many people in the cities the spirit of coexistence has been lost. Excellent story @lydon.sipe

I would say most people consider any question about any of their beliefs as a personal attack!

Loading...

I was watching CNN with Deb and suddenly realized all the expert commentators were women. I was pleasantly surprised - but then, I realized Deb has become quite proficient in political analysis and teaches me new things. it's the time for women to breakout of old molds and stereotypes and come into their own.

it's the time for women to breakout of old molds and stereotypes and come into their own.

Agreed. My only concern is when the family suffers when the parents don’t find what works for their working situation.

Oh yes, good point, lydon

you like the complicated things hahah :D i don't wanna complicate it anymore lol

You got a 2.17% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lydon.sipe!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

seems like the struggle is real too much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05