Play with Me

in #writing8 years ago

Play with Me

(link to my deviantart: http://lurkymurky.deviantart.com/ )

 She was short and small,
with little blonde curls.
She held firmly her doll,
looking at the other little girls.

“Play with me?” Asked Bell,
tattered blue dress swaying slightly.
They laughed and scoffed,
playing with the rich kids was not at all likely.

So she cried to her mother,
eyes red and puffy.
It wasn’t the child’s fault,
her clothes were old and scruffy.

With her child in her arms,
The mother sighed sadly.
How could she have known,
the divorce would’ve hurt them this badly?

“People might not let you in pumpkin,
but you’ll always be my child.”
Anger began to creep in the mother’s veins,
but she’d kept her expression quite mild.

“But mama you see,
it just ain’t the same-
I love you an’ all,
but I wanna play their game.”

The mother wiped Bell’s tears,
biting her bottom lip.
How dare they reject such a nice child!
Those children had just made a slip.

“Why don’t we- I get you to bed?”
The mother said with a sudden itch.
She brought the child to the bedroom lovingly,
using her motherly niche.

Once the child was asleep,
Oh! They were going to see!
“Too good to play with her?
How about they play with me?” 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50