Rhapsodist Writing Contest #1 - Your Day Narrated by a Psychopath (CONTEST CLOSED)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Rapsodist Writing Challenge_MH.jpg

What is the Rhapsodist Writing Contest?

After judging two Artquest challenges, I found myself actively looking to bring a challenge of my own to the Steemit community. During my most recent interview with @kennyskitchen, we were discussing how we both missed the fiction and chapter books which used to be very actively published here on Steemit. Unfortunately, as Steemit grew, long form chapter books generally did not do well.

It led me to look towards developing a writing challenge which would focus on flash fiction instead of long form fiction and non-fiction. But I wanted the emphasis to be on stretching the creativity of the participating authors and challenging them to develop some incredible, unique content which will diversify the content pool on Steemit.

Rhapsodist Writing Challenge #1 – Your Day Narrated by a Psychopath

The initial challenge of the Rhapsodist Writing Contest is to write a piece narrating your day today from the viewpoint of a psychopath. For some inspiration, please check out the clip below from American Psycho.


The contest will run through Sunday, August 20, 2017, with a prize of 10 SBDs up for grabs to the winner. I will be the judging this first contest and the rules of the contest are:

  1. All entries must be 500 words or less.
  2. Limit one entry.
  3. Vote and Resteem this post.
  4. The contest will end Sunday, August 20, 2017, at 11:59:00 UTC.

Good luck to all the participating authors. I look forward to reading some incredible flash fiction.

Sort:  

That's an interesting contest :D

Thanks for sharing!

@rtdcs thanks for checking it out. Glad you enjoyed the contest post.

Voted and reinstalled this post. I will definitely participate, although I'm not sure that something good will turn out :)

@dlina-v-metrah thanks for supporting the contest and becoming my first official entrant. While I can understand the concern about putting your work out there for others to read and judge can be intimidating, thanks for giving it a shot and taking the stretch creatively.

I'm looking forward to see where your mind and creativity take this challenge.

Some problem with esteem,.. I tried to resteem this post three times, but it is not coming in my profile... Don't know why...?

@geetharao thanks for resteeming the writing contest blog. I appreciate the support. I did see it post to your profile a bit earlier. Would you consider entering into the contest? Only 1 day remaining.

@lpfaust... I've just started writing here since a month. Am not an expert to enter into the contest. Want to read and learn a lot on this platform.... :)

@lpfaust,
Congratz for the all participants of this contest, I have a friend, I think he can win this contest. I will tell him about this...
Thanks for sharing this great information!

Cheers~

@theguruasia thanks for the support. Please be sure to have your friend check out the rules and post his entry on this comment thread.

Also, why not give the contest a shot yourself? Nothing ventured = nothing gained, and 10 SBDs for a story 500 words or less is worth a try. Why not give your creative side a chance to play?

Interesting contest! I wish the best luck to participants. Thank you @lpfaust.

@shirish5 thanks for the comments and best wishes for the contestants. Why not give it a try yourself? 10 SBDs to the winner, after all.

That's an awesome contest :) thanks for sharing about it

@blazing thanks for the kind words about the contest. I thought Steemit could use a more diverse array of content which did not revolve around, photography, steemit, cryptos and about three more tags. I felt the best way to attract writers outside those genres would be through a contest.

Why not throw your hat into the ring as well? 500 words or less could win you 10 SBDs. Care to become part of the contest?

This writing contest speaks to me like Lilith,
"Hello I’m from Ghost, have you accepted sexual violence as your one true saviour?"

@ghostcode seems that inspiration is speaking to you with this particular contest. I'm looking forward to checking out your entry for this week's contest.

I have to keep taking breaks, cause it’s hardcore to the motherf-_king core.

@ghostcode is this your official entry?

It is my official reply :)
Still writing my entry for you and enjoying its depths of psychosis.

I’ve written most of it now, but I wonder what the consequence would be to publish something so psychotic online? You know what people are like, they will think that it’s a reflection of the writer and imprint them for life. It will exist on the Steemit blockchain forever. A real psychopath is concerned with their damage control. How much do they control if they give away their power to a beta blockchain website that parasites off its users to make millions, and damn them all to hell while the makers go work on their new projects. Everyone walks away in shame...

Awesome man! @lpfaust, I would definately participate in this contest ... You got a chance to Wish me Luck and others :)

@vishalmukadam thanks for checking out the post and feeling the inspiration to compete in my first writing challenge. I'm happy to have you on board and I am looking forward to see where inspiration guides you for this challenge. Good luck to you.

Congrats

@abdulguffer Thanks for checking out the post and commenting. Are you planning on participating in the contest?

Resteemed for more people hope it helps

@cityslicker Thanks for taking some time and blog space to support this contest. I appreciate the help.

Can I persuade you to throw your hat in the ring as well? A 10 SBD reward to a winner who write the best 500 words or less seems like such an compelling reason to jump in.

Care to let your creative writer come out to play for this contest?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78