Always Pray For A Good Ending

in #writing6 years ago

The beginning of every journey is not as important as its end. There are many who started life well but ended on a bad note. Yes! They were surrounded by golden opportunities you can make mention of yet, they were ruin in a ditch of crash at the end of it.
image
Source

I'll tell you a story of one of my boyfriends I've known for a good number of years now...

In 2014, Ubong and I wrote Joint Admission and Matriculation Board examination (JAMB) for the same course of study (Medicine and Surgery). Surprisingly, we had the same score, 188. We were qualified to write an Aptitude Test examination for the University we wanted to school in.

Luckily for Ubong, he scored 286 in the examination which made him qualified to study Medicine and Surgery while I scored 0 in the examination. I was oblivious and didn't know how to go about asking for a remark. This aside...

In 2015, I got admitted into Agriculture Economics and Extension. Before now, Ubong and I were still good friends.

Ubong's father was a very wealthy man. He used to provide his son with what ever he needed both in monetary and gift items. He made sure his son was comfortable in the medical school. He lacked basically nothing.

In 2016 when Ubong was almost rounding up 200 level in the medical school, he called to meet with me that he needed to discuss something very confidential with me. We met that afternoon and he said to me, "Look Lizzie, I have never wanted to become a medical doctor. My dream is to become one of the greatest footballer in the world. But you see, my father wants me to become a medical doctor because my eldest brother is a barrister and my imidate elder brother is an engineer. He wants me to join the family trend of professional career. I cannot keep lying to myself. I know I'm intelligent and I've been able to get this far in the medical school, but I won't be able to continue".
image
Source

I was shock to my marrow, I felt he was just fooling around with me. Then I realized he meant everything he said to me. I was forced to ask him about all the money he got from his father. He told me he used the money to process his football career. Firstly, he enrolled himself into a football academy and secondly, he was currently looking for a traveling agent.

His father got so upset and unhappy when his son broke the news of his withdrawal from school to purscue his dreams of becoming a footballer. He seized to communicate with him for some time until he decided to give a trial by supporting him.

Just last week, I got to see Ubong after some years, he told me he shuttles between Akwa Ibom state and Lagos state. I tell you, I was surprised to see him in town. He didn't know how to engage in a conversation with me again. He finally summoned courage and talked to me. He told me his traveling agent made him forfeited the offer of playing for his state club because he was assured he would travel to Germany the following week. His agent went far to get 3.5 Million Naira from his dad for his Basic Traveling Allowance (BTA) plus additional 2 Million Naira he had gotten before.

But today, he hasn't been able to travel, his traveling agent doesn't pick his calls any longer. His father is on his neck that he brought someone to scam him of so much Millions. Ubong is currently looking for a petty job to do to survive.

The story of Ubong isn't meant to mock at him for having a bad ending. Of cause I am not God to give the final say in his life, but it's to show how we should take the right decisions at the right time in order not to have regrets.

If you started your journey very well in life, make sure you guide against causing your own fall. Some times challenges will hit us so bad but our abilities to defeat challenges and bounce back 10x better is what makes our ending a good one.
image
Source

Dear steemians, it's better to have a bad beginning but a good ending than to have a good beginning but a bad ending

Sort:  

Hello @Lizzieharrison!
Your post was found to be of high quality by AirCurie via Curation Thursday!
Keep steeming in the Clinic!
PicsArt_03-04-04.42.16.png

@air-clinic Thank you so much to this FAM. This love storm isn't taken for granted. I appreciate this.

Very well written! Yeah I also think its important to prepare yourself for the hardships we will face during the journey. It is almost guaranteed that we will be knocked down once during our journey :)

Exactly what I'm experiencing now. I never prepared for it. Thanks @futurethinker for always thinking about my future. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05